Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming




 [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sat Oct 29, 2011 10:25 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
I love how the reviewer was locked out of his Origin account.


...and his summary at the end:

"PC gamers need to deal with a lot of stuff, Origin is one of them. Let's hope we see a proper port to Steam in the very near future or that Origin shapes up in the same fashion."

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 30, 2011 9:13 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jan 21, 2010 3:21 am
Posts: 137
Location: Eastern Pennsylvania
After getting rid of those made for BF3 Beta drivers ..... it appears I have a working game.
Running 11.9 on a fresh driver load.
All is well. I am liking the game. Single player and multi player work well. It is a big sandbox as advertised and you can turn off the pop-up instructions. Something you could not do on the other drivers, I couldn't even see the menu as it would freeze.

_________________
New:
I7-950
EVGA X58 Classified3 141-GT-E770-A1
Radeon HD5850 (Crossfire)
Win Pro 7 64-BT
Western Digital 300G 10K Raptor
WD 1TB Black storage internal.
Seagate 1 TB storage (trying out Seagate 1st time)
Corsair Dominator 2Gx3 TR3X6G1600C8D
HAF-X 942 (I Like)
PSU Cooler Master RSA00-80GAD3 1000W Gold Modular


kids get my "old" Dell:
Stock Dell XPS 630i
CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 2.66GHz
MB - Stock Dell
RAM - 4GB stock Dell
PSU - Stock 750W
GPU - (1) stock 9800 GT
HD - (2) 320GB, S2, 7200 Western Digital, RAID 0.
Sound- Creative SB X-Fi
Op Sys - Windows 7 Ultimate x32


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 31, 2011 3:36 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 6:26 pm
Posts: 15
Location: Washington, DC
zaksdad12 wrote:
After getting rid of those made for BF3 Beta drivers ..... it appears I have a working game.
Running 11.9 on a fresh driver load.


I had the exact same problem, the 11.10 BF3 preview drivers do not work with crossfire 6950s, I had to roll back to the 11.9 and CAP 3. AMD ackowledged the issue and is supposed to put out the 11.10 final today, but I haven't seen it yet.

Performance - The dual 6950 Toxics with a 2600k pretty much stay above 80 FPS at all times in Ultra settings. Only tweak is turning off MSAA and putting post AA on high, as recommended by most sites (this makes a huge FPS difference).

My sig system with the Q9450 and single HD 6950 runs the same Ultra settings very easily with 60-80fps at 1920X1200, dipping to 45 in some open areas. Basically the same as BFBC2 because I can overvolt the card without PB issues, which I could not do with BFBC2. A night and day difference from the BF3 Beta.

Gameplay - I've only played multiplayer, it's very similar to BFBC2 but with more open maps and much better graphics. It's really good.

_________________
Keepin It Alive:
Corsair 650D
Q9450 @ 3.76
GA-P45T-ES3G Mobo
8GB G.Skill Ripjaws 1600Mhz
MSI HD 6950 2GB (unlocked shaders, oc to 1000/1500)
Corsair H100 (w/ Cougar Fans)
Crucial M4 256GB
G930, G500
Dell 2407WFP
XFX 1050w Gold
Windows 7 Home Premium Upgrade (64 bit)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 02, 2011 4:01 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Awesome fan movie: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V9AkvnSY ... r_embedded

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 3:48 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
If you are playing BF3 with a 560Ti (or 2) then the drivers are going to give you problems. Try the new 285.79 drivers. They work the best (not perfect) so far. And with 2x 560Ti in SLI I can almost run ultra settings at 50 FPS, see drops every once in a while. Add me to your Orgin/BF3 friends so that I can find you: davbow

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 4:11 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Post your reviews and experience with the game already!

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:59 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Played for 3.5 hours or so tonight--mostly TDM, but some Conquest. VERY good game--IMO worth every dollar. The gameplay itself is identical to BF:BC2 in concept, but the following things make it far, far better. The videos on YouTube do not do it justice (as usual, way too compressed):

Positives:

- Graphical detail: LOTS of it, and VERY good; especially trees, bushes, etc., but buildings too--makes BF:BC2 look sad in comparison.
- Audio: Crisp, again, lots of detail--noticeable improvement over BF:BC2.
- Maps: Much better variety of color; much, much bigger, more realistic than ever, with tons of places to hide, snipe, you-name-it. DICE did an amazing job with them. You have to play it to believe it.
- Weapons: Handle very well, sound is significantly richer then BF:BC2 and graphically even more detailed then ever.
- Vehicles: Not too much change over the ones in BF2, but some nice variety now. One nice improvement is that there are no more monochrome viewing screens for the tanks; everything is shown in rich color. I still can't fly any aircraft to save my life, so I can't speak for the planes or the choppers, but they look like a blast. :)
- Physics: Tree trunks and branches are now responsive to shock waves from explosions/blasts, which really adds to the realism.

Negatives/disappointments:

- For some reason, doors and window frames in some of the upper building floors aren't destroyable with a knife like in BF:BC2 (the glass itself is though).
- No way to switch off soldier chatter; although in some ways this adds to the atmosphere, I don't need to be listening to soldiers swear up a storm to enjoy the game.
- Still obvious hacking going on, but what else is new? At least EA/DICE claims to be actively trying to remove and prevent their heinous activities.
- Walking on the edge of a river in shallow water doesn't generate "splash sounds" until you're deeper in (little things like this will probably get cleaned up with the upcoming patch).

Temps: My 560 Ti (with all settings on Auto--most showing on "High") ran very smoothly, and no glitches or crashes. Make sure you use 285.79 beta drivers if you have an Nvidia card--thanks davbow! (the game does warns you that the beta is required). With my fan set to 70%, GPU temps stayed at or below 70 deg. C, and my stock i5 never went above 44 deg. C with fans also set to auto. EDIT: Played a while with Ultra settings--no temp changes, and though not as smooth, still very playable.

Needless to say, I highly recommend it to anyone with the hardware to run it on (though I've read that it even looks decent on an 8800GT!). Origin is a rip-off of Steam, makes you jump through a lot of legal hoops and some web plug-in installs before you can finally play, but overall, it's not too annoying and seems stable/friendly enough (even for a beta).

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:03 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Read something about the cheaters: EA Bans Hundreds of Battlefield 3 Cheaters

The release of MW3 was really upsetting since the whole unranked dedicated server thing along with day-one speed hacks. Seems like nothing is hack proof. :(

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:08 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:36 am
Posts: 425
Location: South Florida
Steam ID: scvrazoray27
Not sure if I have the time to put into the learning curve to get into BF3. That's the same reason I am ignoring Skyrim. I only have time for Starcraft 2 these days. Looking at Diablo 3 to completely destroy my social life. lol.

_________________
MSI P67A-GD65 :: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.4 GHz :: 8 Gb GSkill 1600 Mhz Cas 8 :: MSI N470GTX :: 750Gb 7.2k WD Caviar Blue :: Prolimatech Megahalem Cooler :: Win 7 64 Home


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 5:26 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
(Re: EA Bans Hundreds of Battlefield 3 Cheaters) ...every FPS has its filthy contingent of cheating scum.


Couldn't have said it better myself--here's to DICE doing some serious cleanup to the hax for as long as they can.

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:35 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2011 9:08 pm
Posts: 9
ran smoothly on a dual 9800Gt setup until my mobo keeled over recently, if you are going to buy worth paying for the extra maps for a small price :)

_________________
Dell 630i
Stock Mobo
Intel Q9400 2.66
4 GB Ram
Dual SLI 9800 GT
STock 750 PSupply

Macbook Pro i5
ATI Radeon HD 6750m
8GB Ram

Imac
2.93 Dual Core
NVIDIA GeForce GT 120
4GB Ram


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:12 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
Not sure if I have the time to put into the learning curve to get into BF3.


IMO, there's very little learning curve at all--basic gameplay is identical to (but richer than) BF:BC2.

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:16 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I agree there isn't much learning curve, but the other factor is the time needed to play all the games.

I have MW3, Skyrim, AC Revelations, and BF3 all sitting here, and I just don't have the time to play anything. By the time I finish one and move to the other, people have moved on to something else. :rofl:

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:36 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
By the time I finish one and move to the other, people have moved on to something else.


Quite understandable for a medical student--everything I've heard says time is no longer your own! :crazy:

But the good thing about time and great gameplay is that they're still fun years later. Heck, I still love TF2 even though it came out in 2007, and played CS:S for five straight years (though the new update will be welcome, as its graphics look ancient now).

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 6:59 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
gdonner wrote:
Quote:
By the time I finish one and move to the other, people have moved on to something else.


Quite understandable for a medical student--everything I've heard says time is no longer your own! :crazy:

But the good thing about time and great gameplay is that they're still fun years later. Heck, I still love TF2 even though it came out in 2008, and played CS:S for five straight years (though the new update will be welcome, as its graphics look ancient now).

Yes very true indeed.

I still enjoy some classics as well from time to time. Brings back good memories. :D

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:16 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:55 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Yorkshire UK
Have you seen they are advertising the prospect of BF4 already on the DICE FB page. Lordy lor, I think they need to concentrate on finishing of BF3 first... :)

_________________
XPS 630i
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz
8192MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 Phantom3
DELL S2409W
Killer NIC K1
Creative SB X-Fi Ti Fatality
Creative Fatality Headset
Ideazon Zboard + DELL Std Keyboard
D-Link DSL-320B
D-Link DIR-655


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 3:19 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:36 am
Posts: 425
Location: South Florida
Steam ID: scvrazoray27
I picked up BF3 on Black Friday from the Origin store for $30! Physical copy with a free poster so I'll be able to join this cool club shortly :)

_________________
MSI P67A-GD65 :: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.4 GHz :: 8 Gb GSkill 1600 Mhz Cas 8 :: MSI N470GTX :: 750Gb 7.2k WD Caviar Blue :: Prolimatech Megahalem Cooler :: Win 7 64 Home


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Battlefield 3 - Is it Worth the Purchase For Single Player O
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:39 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2009 8:52 pm
Posts: 53
Hey guys; so I have MW3 - mixed reviews I know but i always liked certain aspects like the kills through the laptop, etc. Where can I buy one of those laptops? But I found even in MW3 the single player quite short. Don't know why (maybe because I would likely suck) but I have never played anything online. So are some comments I see on the net correct - don't buy BF3 for single player only? Is it worse than MW3 single player?
On another note (to m3th0d1c4l) about my rig, seems all Dell Alienware sites now only have the Aurora available with Area 51 and Area 51 ALX gone with the wind. Area 52?

_________________
Alienware Area 51 ALX (Black)
I7 980X@3.3
Asus GTX 770 Direct CU II OC SLI
12GB DDR 3 1600
2 300GB Sata @10K RPM Raid 0
Creative XFI Titanium
Blue Ray Combo
Windows 8 Pro (64)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 7:01 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
If you thought MW3 was short, BF3 is shorter. :rofl: And its not great tbh.

As for the Alienware stuff, I am sure they will be back with new hardware soon, since LGA 2011 was just released. I doubt the cases will change though. Just internal hardware. They will probably be back in a month or so.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3 - Is it Worth the Purchase For Single Play
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:52 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Big K wrote:
Hey guys; so I have MW3 - mixed reviews I know but i always liked certain aspects like the kills through the laptop, etc. Where can I buy one of those laptops? But I found even in MW3 the single player quite short. Don't know why (maybe because I would likely suck) but I have never played anything online. So are some comments I see on the net correct - don't buy BF3 for single player only? Is it worse than MW3 single player?
On another note (to m3th0d1c4l) about my rig, seems all Dell Alienware sites now only have the Aurora available with Area 51 and Area 51 ALX gone with the wind. Area 52?

Call of Duty single player is epic. Always a lot of fun because it's so engrossing. It's like participating in a Michael Bay film. I loved MW2's campaign especially the music. Really gets you goin'.

The multiplayer of MW3 is a lot like MW2. IWNet (random server picks) are ranked so you unlock weapons 'n stuff, but the dedicated servers are unranked and some of them are fixed to where you can't customize your loadout. Also, CoD players are some of the most vicious...They're rude, immature and can really put you off the whole experience. Some players hack others are insanely good (after 5 CoDs some guys have it down like a science) but it's no fun to join a ranked server to have one guy get 30+ kills with no deaths. Everyone gets pissed and it ruins the experience.

I've had some success in playing capture the flag, domination type games. A lot of the hardcore players stick to free-for-all and team deathmatch. Things seem more...balanced...in the alternative game-types. None of that 40 kills, 2 deaths crap.

Also, just like in MW2. There are hacked IWNet servers (the ones you join randomly) that will unlock all emblems, challenges, ranks, prestige, etc. It's pretty noticeable since you see a buncha messages on your screen on how to enable crap like no gravity. Just ALT-Tab and end the game *.exe so it doesn't sync to the Steam Cloud if that happens.

Btw, I currently have a 1.6 K/D ratio in MW3 :-D Eat it!

As for Battlefield 3, it's more multiplayer based as I hear it. Not too surprising since Battlefield: Bad Company 2 was centered more around multiplayer. It boasts good action, sound and graphics in both singleplayer and multiplayer. Nothing wrong with it. Much more diverse than the run-and-gun of Call of Duty. Just be sure your system can handle it.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 12:33 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
I recently stumbled onto these recommended settings for BF3 and the 560 Ti, and thought I would try them. Considering I'm using Ultra on 1920 x 1080, I have to say they're quite accurate and playable:

http://www.geforce.com/Optimize/OPS/Bat ... 560-Ti-OPS

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:13 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
razoray wrote:
I picked up BF3 on Black Friday from the Origin store for $30! Physical copy with a free poster so I'll be able to join this cool club shortly :)



dang. wish i caught that one.

anyone havin troubles w/ Origin? ive heard lots of complaints. i didnt care for it, but i didnt have any probs when i tried to play the beta.

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 2:39 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Nothing major, but infrequently the game fails to launch until you exit Origin and reload it, or the browser/server gets "stuck" and needs a refresh. Still a lot of fun, and a great deal if you can still find it for $30!

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:21 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 7:55 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Yorkshire UK
If you have 'go to game' ticked but it takes a while to launch try clicking the BF3 icon on the bottom bar and go to the load screen it starts much quicker for me and afew of my buddies. :)
Also this is worth a read for nvidia users: http://battlelog.battlefield.com/bf3/fo ... 712646149/

_________________
XPS 630i
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Intel Core 2 Quad CPU Q9400 @ 2.66GHz
8192MB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 570 Phantom3
DELL S2409W
Killer NIC K1
Creative SB X-Fi Ti Fatality
Creative Fatality Headset
Ideazon Zboard + DELL Std Keyboard
D-Link DSL-320B
D-Link DIR-655


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Battlefield 3
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 10, 2011 5:31 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
What's yall's EA/Origin usernames?

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 86 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: