Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » General Computer Help


Forum rules


Area for those who are learning the basics of computers and how they work. No question is too "dumb" or silly. Go ahead, ask! Someone here can help.

Area will be moderated to assure everyone is treated with respect.



 [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Tue Jan 14, 2014 1:18 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
I just upgraded to a Samsung 840EVO 500GB SSD and am unable to change BIOS to AHCI. Shouldnt I be able to do this? I have BIOS version 1.0.13 and it does not give me an option. Any ideas? Thanks for the input

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:26 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
I don't believe there is an option to change it in bios.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 4:51 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
So is there nothing us 630i guys can do with SSDs to make them work to their fullest potential? That sucks. Samsung Magician throws an error stating "Magician cannot communicate with the Samsung SSD" it can however tell me the used space etc of the drive just no health specifics and system info. My PC seems to be faster but I definitely think it can be better.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:10 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
There are at least a couple users here who have apparently been able to get their SSDs to work with the stock 630i motherboard, but how and to what extent I don't know. My recommendation is to upgrade to a newer mobo and CPU for best performance. SSDs are designed for newer chipsets and hardware than the stock 630i mobo (now more than five years old).

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 7:25 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
This is what I was afraid of. It works but jus doesn't seem to be much of an improvement. Any suggestions for a new MB and CPU for my PC? Are they hard to replace?

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:46 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:08 am
Posts: 58
xjjeepman wrote:
This is what I was afraid of. It works but jus doesn't seem to be much of an improvement. Any suggestions for a new MB and CPU for my PC? Are they hard to replace?


http://www.my630i.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5245


http://www.my630i.com/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=5425

_________________
XPS 630i (New)
Core 2 E8400 3.0 ghz
BIOS 1.0.13
8GB Corsair DDR2 PC2 6400 Ram (New)
WD VelociRaptor 600GB x 2 RAID 0 (New)
ATI Radeon 4870
Teac / Dell CAB-200 BT Multi Card Reader (New)
Dell BT Wireless Keyboard/Mouse (New)
Dell S2440L 24 IN LED HD MONITOR 1920x1080p 60 Hz (New)
Buslink 1TB External Drive (B/U)
Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1
Bose Companion 5 Speaker System
Modified Front Case Fans (2 x 120mm Cooler Master R4 Sickle Flow
Blue LED Sleeve Bearing Fans)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 17, 2014 11:58 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2013 12:08 am
Posts: 58
A good tutorial vid step by step as well of the complete upgrade to an XPS 630i


_________________
XPS 630i (New)
Core 2 E8400 3.0 ghz
BIOS 1.0.13
8GB Corsair DDR2 PC2 6400 Ram (New)
WD VelociRaptor 600GB x 2 RAID 0 (New)
ATI Radeon 4870
Teac / Dell CAB-200 BT Multi Card Reader (New)
Dell BT Wireless Keyboard/Mouse (New)
Dell S2440L 24 IN LED HD MONITOR 1920x1080p 60 Hz (New)
Buslink 1TB External Drive (B/U)
Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1
Bose Companion 5 Speaker System
Modified Front Case Fans (2 x 120mm Cooler Master R4 Sickle Flow
Blue LED Sleeve Bearing Fans)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 12:15 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks guys, ill take a look!

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Sat Jan 18, 2014 1:22 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 pm
Posts: 126
It is not that difficult to upgrade the XPS 630i (if I can do it anyone can)! Just follow the guides on this site and on you-tube (there are loads to look at). It really does depend on how much you want to spend though. I have had no regrets since I upgraded my rig.

_________________
XPS 630i (silver) case
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC ACX 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card
8GB G.Skill DDR3 Sniper Memory
Windows 7 Home Edition (64 bit) SP1
ACER S271HL LED HD 27inch Monitor
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 Mobo
Intel 3rd Gen. Core i5-3570K (4 x 3.40GHz, Ivy Bridge, Socket 1155, 6Mb L3 Cache) CPU (OC'd to 4.2GHz)
Logitech G35 7.1 surround sound Headset
2 x SCSI Hardrives (1 x 256Gb Crucial M4 SSD & 1 x 600Gb WDC Blue WD64 00AAKS-75A7B)
Perixx PX-2000 Illuminated Gaming Keyboard
Gigabyte M8000X Laser Gaming Mouse
Scythe Kaze Master Pro Ace Manual Fan Controller[/size]
Modified front case fans (2 x Aerocool Shark 12cm Quad LED 15 Blade Fluid
Dynamic Bearing Fan-Blue)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Thu Feb 06, 2014 10:08 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
edited

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Last edited by xjjeepman on Thu Mar 13, 2014 1:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:39 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:28 am
Posts: 4
Hi,

I'm new to this site but it has helped me break the mold and start upgrading my 630i!

So i discovered with the stock mobo you can use a ssd but you need to disable the RAID in BIOS. Then your pc will see the hdd.

Apperently though using a ssd on the the stock mobo isn't very good for the ssd as it doesnt support most of the features what makes the ssd effecient.
Also the samsung magician software doesnt has issues with it.

I couldn't find the link i used but i just googled it alot.

Hope this helps. I'm not infront of my pc so i'm going by memory.

Matt


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 4:53 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
gdonner, what would be a good processor and mobo for my PC?
I found these, are they are good combo/compatible? Would I need anything else?
Processor: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6819116505
Doesn't look like the mobo you have is available anymore.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813157265
what would be a good option?

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 12:03 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
You can stick with the CPU, and here's a motherboard that should work well with it (the ASRock Z77 Extreme6):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6813157295

You'll need new DDR3 RAM to go with it (G.SKILL is recommended for ASRock mobos):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/ProductLi ... me=G.SKILL

You'll also need a new CPU cooler, such as the Cooler Master Hyper 212 EVO:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6835103099

And, lastly (to protect your new investment of hardware) you might want to consider a new PSU (in the 600-700W range):

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6817139020

But as always, check the user reviews carefully--and be sure you're happy with your decision!

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Upgraded to SSD - cant change BIOS
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 2:40 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Dec 20, 2009 2:21 pm
Posts: 23
Thanks again! I will check these out. Look like great suggestions!

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Intel Quad Q6600 2.4 GHz
Kingston HyperX 8GB (4 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Quad Kit
Samsung SSD 840 EVO 500GB
2 More 500 GB Drives
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 Superclocked 2GB
Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 14 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » General Computer Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: