Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » General Computer Help


Forum rules


Area for those who are learning the basics of computers and how they work. No question is too "dumb" or silly. Go ahead, ask! Someone here can help.

Area will be moderated to assure everyone is treated with respect.



 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 12:36 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:13 pm
Posts: 7
Steam ID: kamikaze
Hey guys,

I suspect that most of you that used to have 630i have now moved on to some other systems for battlefield 4 but I got this one from a friend and can play battlefield 3 very smoothly.

I suspect that BF4 is bottlenecked by my processor (Q9400) since my GPU usage (560 Ti OC 1GB) does not reach 100% and the VRAM usage just touches 1GB with a bigger maps.

So do you think I should change to Q6600 which I sparingly have and OC it to 3.2 Ghz to be game proof for a while?

Let me know what you think. Also, which CPU heatsink should I get that is quite cheap but does the job very well, and quiet if possible? (its beside my bed)

Thanks :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 05, 2013 2:30 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Overclocking your Q6600 is not going to be sufficient for BF4 or any of the newer games coming out. The best investment you can make is a new CPU, mobo and RAM, like the i3 (preferably i5) and a Z77- or Z87-based series.

I think there needs to be a sticky post that says something to the following: "Overclocking simply cannot get around the limitations of old hardware. Over time, that hardware must be replaced to keep up with the increasing demands of high-end gaming."

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:21 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:13 pm
Posts: 7
Steam ID: kamikaze
Is it still worth changing the processor from Q9400 running on stock to an OC Q6600 @ 3.2GHz though in general? Because I can see that I have slight bottlenecks with BF3 multiplayer on full load!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 6:24 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:13 pm
Posts: 7
Steam ID: kamikaze
And sorry for the double posting, but you are right about that sticky post. I guess the question is how long before you say that old is old! Because some people don't mind playing games if they want more performance and smoother frame rates rather than intense graphics.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 06, 2013 1:37 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
Is it still worth changing the processor from Q9400 running on stock to an OC Q6600 @ 3.2GHz though in general? Because I can see that I have slight bottlenecks with BF3 multiplayer on full load!


I don't think you would see much (if any) performance boost, but there's nothing wrong with trying it though!

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 5:34 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 27, 2013 6:13 pm
Posts: 7
Steam ID: kamikaze
Ok. Will let you know once I tried it. Was wondering whether I should use the stock cooler or the cpu cooler that was recommended in the forum which is this one!
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/141106053943 ... 1438.l2649

Because the stock cooler at 100% is also noisy at the same time so is it worth changing it?

Thanks


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Change and OC Core 2 Quad for Battlefield 4?
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 9:25 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Jun 08, 2008 3:56 am
Posts: 75
Yeah if your gonna OC you should get a Hyper 212. Unless you can deal with high CPU temps from OCing. I wouldn't get that one though, either get a Hyper 212 Plus or Hyper 212 EVO (evo is newer + costs more)

_________________
XPS 630i
Q6600 @ 2.4GHZ
EVGA 750i SLI FTW Mobo
4GB RAM @ 800mhz
Windows 7 Home (32-bit) OS
750W PSU
750GB HD @ 7200RPM
EVGA GTX 470


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » General Computer Help


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Google [Bot] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: