Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games




 [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 4:11 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
Okay guys, many of you know that I am a closet FS geek. '

With the release of the PMDG 737NGX (Wow, what a piece of software - check it out . . . ) I was revisiting some of my favorite tweak sites and have discovered this:

http://forum.avsim.net/topic/318918-aut ... l-for-fsx/

It works.

I am not having luck with the frame limiting program he suggests, but other than that, it is well worth the effort.

I will report back when I find a frame limiter that works for me.

David

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Tue Aug 09, 2011 7:24 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
If you want to limit the FPS, why not override VSync in the Nvidia Control Panel? You can force VSync on so it will never go above the refresh rate (typically 60Hz on most monitors). Unless you are trying to limit it below that...

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 1:48 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
30 fps is the magic number. Not to mention I have never gotten 60 fps from FSX . . . LOL

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:54 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | Dual 6GB GeForce GTX Titans SLI
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 2:56 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
hairbautt wrote:
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:

LOL. :rofl:

Dave, you are telling me that an i7 950 and dual GTX 560Ti's cannot max FSX? I have only played it on a friends PC once a while ago. I did not know it was that intense. I know its a CPU intense simulator, but damn....

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:43 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
hairbautt wrote:
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:

LOL. :rofl:

Dave, you are telling me that an i7 950 and dual GTX 560Ti's cannot max FSX? I have only played it on a friends PC once a while ago. I did not know it was that intense. I know its a CPU intense simulator, but damn....


That is what I am telling you . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:07 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
GTF out of here man. You gotta be kidding me! And they said Crysis and Crysis 2 was hard to max out......

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:04 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
The problem with FSX is several fold:

1. ACES/Microsoft did very little code optimization in FSX.
2. The code was not really written to handle multiple threads. Yes, there is some support that was released with SP2, but it was a afterthought. If you recall, FSX was initially released before multicore (maybe more accurately quad or hex core . . . ) was available to the mainstream consumer (2006). To make it worse, it was in development for many years, so the base code did not even contemplate threading . . .
3. Just to give you an idea how bad it is, my FSX install runs faster on a single 560Ti than 2 560Ti's in SLI. Again, not coded to support SLI optimally.

So, we work with what we have.

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 4:44 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
hairbautt wrote:
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:


So, how does FSX run on that new rig you have been talking about getting for years?

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:01 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
LOL.

Dave, I know that the game is not optimized for SLI/Crossfire, but have you tried different rendering types? There are different frame rendering modes in the Nvidia Control Panel that might help improve the performance in FSX with SLI on.

I might download it just to start screwing around with it. :D

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 5:16 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
davbow wrote:
hairbautt wrote:
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:


So, how does FSX run on that new rig you have been talking about getting for years?

Plead the 5th.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | Dual 6GB GeForce GTX Titans SLI
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2011 10:49 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
LOL.

Dave, I know that the game is not optimized for SLI/Crossfire, but have you tried different rendering types? There are different frame rendering modes in the Nvidia Control Panel that might help improve the performance in FSX with SLI on.

I might download it just to start screwing around with it. :D


Best I can tell it is equally shitty on all of them. Seriously though, it is not a GPU bottle neck.

My dual 8800GTs didn't fully load up, and my 560Ti's aren't even close.

It is all about raw CPU processing power and the inability of FSX to use new CPU instructions and mutiple threads . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 2:20 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Well M$ should fix that then, or release a newer one that is more optimized for newer hardware.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Fri Aug 12, 2011 7:52 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
You keep making posts that require a response, dang you . . .

So, M$ fired all of the ACES studio which was responsible for Microsoft Flight Simulator and essentially announced that development of any and all future versions of MFS were stopped and cancelled.

Then, recently, announced that they are developing, from the ground up, Microsoft Flight. Note, the "Simulator" part is now missing. What that really means is not known yet.

It does look like they have stepped the rendering up a bit. Hopefully that means that we are going to get CUDA support, etc.

The are still being pretty hush-hush about what they are working towards, but you can checkout some screenies and videos here: http://www.microsoft.com/games/flight/

Many in the flight simulator community are worried that it is going the direction of console games and more simplified experience based on the initial press release.

Who knows. I wouldn't put it past them to cancel it before release as well.

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: A New Tweak Process for FSX that WORKS!
 Post Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:19 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:22 pm
Posts: 166
Location: 9200 Ft.
davbow wrote:
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
hairbautt wrote:
Just get a more powerful rig, cheap-ass.

:lol:

LOL. :rofl:

Dave, you are telling me that an i7 950 and dual GTX 560Ti's cannot max FSX? I have only played it on a friends PC once a while ago. I did not know it was that intense. I know its a CPU intense simulator, but damn....


That is what I am telling you . . .


You should try running 3 monitors and all the other fun stuff I have (Saitek Pro Flight stuff) with an old E8400... Both processors are maxed, ram is at 90%, video cards are fine though. :crazy:

It is really time for an upgrade.

:mrgreen:

_________________
Dell XPS 630i:
Stock system
E8400
GeForce 8800GT
4GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz


Flight Sim PC:
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8P67 PRO Motherboard
EVGA GTX760 Superclocked ACX (x2 sli)
8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Antec HCG-750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 912 Case
Windows 7 x64
1 Dell 23" & 2 Dell 20" LCD's
Full Saitek Pro Flight FSX Setup


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 15 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], Trendiction [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: