Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games




 [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:08 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Hello everyone!

..back again - frustrated as usual :roll: Heeeeelp please..!

Until recently everything worked, not exactly smooth, but OK with my 2 times ATI HD 4870 boards on my Vista 32 bit machine.

However after replacing the 4870 boards with some new 2 times ATI HD 5870, 1GB GDDR5, 850 MHz boards, I get serious OOM errors in FSX, no matter which "bcdedit /set IncreaseUserVA" values I use in the command prompt:

3072
2944
2816
2560
2496
2432
2368
2304
2240
2176
2112
2048

(And of course the machine has been rebooted after each value change and FSX.exe has been enabled to handle more than 2GB, through CFF Explorer)

As you can see further down, my setup is quite heavy loaded, but as I mentioned, things just exactly worked out with my previous 4870 boards.
It took me about 1 year of fine tuning my FSX cockpit, so I'm not particular keen on redoing everything from scratch on a new 64 win7 with new processors, mobo and everything - I haven't planned to do that, at least not yet!
So COULD there perhaps be some kind of work around for this OOM problem, through my existing gear..or what???!!

Cheers, Morten

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:37 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
It is probably an ATI driver issue, if it is getting an Out Of Memory error. I used to get this on GTA 4 with my 4890's, until ATI fixed it in the newer drivers.

The 5870's are pretty new, so it will take some time for the drivers to mature. I have also seen many users reporting problems with the new ATI 5000 series cards when paired with the XPS 630i stock motherboard.

Have you tried the latest drivers from ATI? If so, have you tried to revert to an older set of drivers to see if that fixes it?

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:33 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks for your respond, m3th0d1c4l

Perhaps you're right about the driver issue - it's hard to tell.
I have the very newest driver suite installed from ATI and I actually just bought the 2 boards, so I wouldn't know witch older driver I should stick to in order to revert the system for more stable conditions!

I can't really find much similar problems on the net - though I just ran into another guy who had similar problems late last year, BUT with his EVGA GeForce GTX 280 1GB on a win7 system (Win7, for God sake, with all of it's memory potential - totally absurd!!):

http://forums.flightsim.com/vbfs/showth ... p?t=204586

Lots of suggestions here, that it actually could be caused by the OS handling the memory in a conflicting way...somehow!.... I'm still studying the thread...

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 4:55 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
Argh!

The dreaded AMD/ATI video card problem with FSX. I don't know why they didn't address this issue before dissolving ACES, with MS and AMD working together.

The OOM issue is also frustrating. I noticed you are running 32 bit Vista. While I don't believe that running the 32 bit alone should cause the OOM, I would highly recommend updating to a 64 bit OS for the memory handling issues and better FSX performance.

I am looking into several issues on my FSX install, and I will add your issues to my search list. Sorry I don't have a quick and dirty solution.

David

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 5:21 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
You know, now that Davbow mentioned it, that actually could be the problem.

You see, with 32Bit windows, the OS is limited to 4GB of memory shared between the Video card VRAM and the system RAM. You have 2GB of VRAM, plus 4GB of system RAM, which sets you over the 4GB limit.

Now usually when this situation is present, windows allocates for all VRAM first, and then the system memory. So it would be 2GB VRAM + only 2GB system RAM, but it might not be working in that way.

I would just give 64 Bit a shot. Its a lot better than 32 bit in many ways, and as Davbow also mentioned, it has better performance with FSX.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 6:15 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks for your ongoing effort helping me out here! - I really appreciate it :)

...In fact, I also had this thread out on the FS community sites for a couple of days now...........................total silence :lol:

However as I mentioned, upgrading to 64 bit for the time being, is NOT an option for me.
Folks with 64 bit OS, occasionally have problems with OOM too!

Cheers, Morten

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Fri Feb 12, 2010 7:35 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
That is true. Then my best guess would be to stick it out until ATI can get some better drivers out to the public.

Also, just for the future, your stock 630i motherboard is holding those 5870's back from their true performance and capabilities. A couple users here who upgraded to the HD 5000 series cards also upgraded their motherboards, and saw a big improvement in performance, because the ATI 5x cards are built to use the PCIE 8x 2.0 and 16x 2.0 slot for max bandwidth. And especially in crossfire, I have heard that to see the most performance gains, you need a good OC of about 3.4-3.8 GHz on the CPU.

Just thought you should know for future upgrades.

Hopefully they will release some good drivers soon.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Sat Feb 13, 2010 4:23 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
morten wrote:
However as I mentioned, upgrading to 64 bit for the time being, is NOT an option for me.
Folks with 64 bit OS, occasionally have problems with OOM too!

Cheers, Morten


Ever thought about a dual boot? Dell will provide the 64 bit disk . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Mon Feb 15, 2010 7:13 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
davbow wrote:
Ever thought about a dual boot? Dell will provide the 64 bit disk . . .


Well, that could actually be a very interesting experiment!!
...I mean before throwing everything away and do loads of investments in new hardware and software.
However, IF I anyway decided to go for a new mobo and CPU, I could still benefit from a dual boot in this way:

Boot 64: Simulator - (period!)
Boot 32: All my present expensive software - AutoCad, Adobe, MS Office, etc.

How can I get hands on that Dell 64 disk, you're mentioning?

Cheers, Morten

PS. By the way, some clever answer finally popped up from the FS community - explaining the obstacles of my current setup:

http://www.simforums.com/forums/forum_p ... ?TID=33254

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:23 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
Click #5 here:

resources/faq.html

The reasons listed in that forum are the same reasons I was suggesting it . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 4:14 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
I'm not entitled to that CD, cause my system came with a OEM version of Vista!

Anyway I'm sick and tired of Vista 32/64, whatever - now I also learned that I can't mix ATI graphic boards together from different series and/or N'vidia boards - only XP and Win7 allows that.
F..That does it!

Goodbye Vista - Hello Win7!

Roger over and out!

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 2:30 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
All Dell computers come with OEM versions of the software - that is what Dell is - an "Original Equipment Manufacturer"

If Vista 32 bit came with the XPS 630, you are eligible . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 3:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 1:13 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
NO! , not according to your link, at the end of #5:

" Also of note is that the Windows Vista Alternate Media offer does not apply to Dell's OEM version of Vista or XP that came as part of your system."

Anyway as I said, I will not waste any more time on Vista.

But thanks anyway for your help! :)


Cheers, Morten

_________________
Dell XPS 630i case - Gigabyte X58A UD7. i7-930 (not yet OC). Mushkin Red Line, PC3-1600 CL6 (3x2GB). Dell stock HDD 640GB, 2x320GB (7200 Rpm), Non raid, WD Raptor 300GB (1000 Rpm) dedicated for FSX flight simulation. 2 x Assus ATI Radeon HD 5870. 2 x Matrox Triple2Go. Windows 7 Ultimate, 64 bit. 8 wide screens connected (+ 2 other monitors connected in network to a second PC)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:50 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
The Windows Vista Alternate Media program is administered through Microsoft, not through Dell. Because Dell is an OEM and the OEM OS is sent with Dell systems, you have to obtain the media through Dell and not through Microsoft directly. Dell is responsible for supporting the OEM OS.

To clarify for everyone, if you have your version 32 bit version of Vista that came with your system, you contact Dell for the 64 bit version.

If you purchased your software through retail and do not have an OEM version, then you can go directly through Microsoft for the replacement (in theory).

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fatal OOM errors with FSX and new ATI HD 5870
 Post Posted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 1:28 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2009 2:32 am
Posts: 53
+1 I received 2 free copies of Vista 64 bit for both my machines by following the advice on this site. They both shipped w/ 32 bit.

_________________
EVGA 780I Alpha Super Ultra Maximum Omega
Q6600 core 2 quad OC'ed to 3.0ghz
GSkill F2 8500 4 gb's
EVGA GTX 260 896 mb's Super Clocked Edition
Zalman 9700 CPU Cooler
Stock 320gb Sata hdd
Unimpressive Western Digital 250gb 5400 rpm IDE hdd
Equally unimpressive Maxtor 200gb 5400 rpm IDE hdd
Stock 750 watt PSU


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 15 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: