Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games




 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 6:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Sep 08, 2008 2:27 am
Posts: 16
I am running a 630i, Q6600 quad-core processor, 4 GB ram, 8800GT video card,Windows 7 32-bit.

MS FS X loaded fine and boots up OK. However, as soon as the game loads and I start to take off from the runway, the simulator program shuts down and I get a message that I am using too many system resources (it's the only program I'm running at the time).

Huh? I've tried lowering the game settings to no avail.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks,
AW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:39 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 2717
Location: Bristol, UK
Steam ID: billybigfoot
Yep, FSX is a resource hog, there are a few sites that have tips and tricks to help but none have had much of an impact on my flying experience.

But, have a look here, second post down, AlacrityPC works wonders.

Many thanks to davbow for posting it, :D

_________________
Image


i7: Intel i7 860 2.8GHz | Intel DP55WG | 8GB PC10666 | GTX275 (896Mb) | HD-1 TB | DVD/CD- LG BlueRay + DVD/CD Burner | OCZ SilentxStream 700w | RealTek ALC 889 | CASE-Lian Li 7FN Black | Win 7 U 64bit | G35/G19/G9 | Dell 22 inch SP2208WFP


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Mon Dec 07, 2009 3:58 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 4:25 pm
Posts: 200
Location: NW IOWA
I have been messing around with FSX for the last 2 weeks. I might be going back to fs2004. I tried fsx on vista 64 and it worked fine. Everything maxed out on effects and resolution except for ferry and car traffic and worked flawlessly along with trackIR. Missions (what i like) worked perfect as well.

With Windows 7 complete opposite. This is the 2nd game i installed on my system. When playing missions- halfway through the gauges will lock up in the cockpit and then i the game stops and i get a message that its run out of available memory. Or it will just lock up and nothing happens. Framerates will be fine and then act like it will drop down to 15fps.

Edit-
Reading posts on evga forums there may be a issue with 195.62_desktop_win7_winvista_64bit_english_whql driver. Ill try going back to the 191 or so tonight when i get home to see if that helps

_________________
Intel core 2 Q9550 (12MB, 2.83GHz, 1333FSB)
EVGA nForce 780i SLI 132-CK-NF78-A1
Windows 7 ultimate, 64bit
8 Gig G-Skill ddr2-800
2x 500GB - 7200rpm Sata 3.0Gb/s, 32MB Cache Raid 0
2x EVGA GTX-285 Both 01G-P3-1281-AR
Never decided on the drivers to use.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 09, 2009 5:28 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
I was quite looking forward to FS11 . . . FSX is close, but not quite there. There are some great features, but I think the execution and implementation still could be tweaked quite a bit.

I really wish that MS had not killed the franchise - even better would be if they would agree to let someone else develop it.

Oh well, I guess we now know what are going to have for a while . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Thu Dec 10, 2009 4:21 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 248
Location: Texas, USA
davbow wrote:
Oh well, I guess we now know what are going to have for a while . . .

Yup, but where will we get a pair of Abe Vigoda's pants at this time of year?

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB stock Dell DDR2 @ 850MHz
2x ATi Radeon HD4850 (Crossfire)
500GB 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
Vista 64
3DMark06: 17488
3DMark Vantage: P11419


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Flight Simulator X
 Post Posted: Tue May 27, 2014 4:43 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 4:35 am
Posts: 1
Thanks for the post!


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » Gaming » Flight Simulators and Games


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: