Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Software / Firmware / BIOS Updates




 [ 17 posts ] 

Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control on your 630i?
Automatic 47%  47%  [ 28 ]
Manual 53%  53%  [ 31 ]
Total votes : 59
 
Author Message
 Post subject: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 7:53 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:09 pm
Posts: 1323
Location: Oregon
Steam ID: devjonfos
We're talking about control of your two large front case fans (HDD Fan and PCI Cage Fan).

Automatic meaning the "Automatic fan control" checkbox is checked under the Chassis icon in the NVIDIA ESA Performance software (NVIDIA Control Panel, Performance, Device Settings). This is the default.

Manual meaning (1) You've unchecked that boxed and have set your fans manually, (2) You've uninstalled the software and rely on the last saved setting, or (3) You use a hardware fan controller or direct motherboard connections.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 8:40 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:10 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Prattville, AL
Manual - both @ 33%, per the OC Collective for my Q6600.

_________________
Q6600 OC'd to 3.0 GHz
Vista HP 64 SP1
8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 800MHz
ATI HD 4850 / 22" (1680x1050)
3DMark06 - 12,518

Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:59 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:14 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Manual, I set both of them at 30% and keeps my 630 nice and cool :P

_________________
EVGA Nvidia nForce 780i FTW | BIOS SZ17
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 | Zalman CNPS9700 110mm
8GB Corsair Dominator 1066 | 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual nVidia GeForce 9800 GT SLI - 700/1750/995 | 182.85
2x 500GB WD [RAID 0] | 1x 500GB WD [Storage]
[1] Samsung 22X DVD±RW | [1] 16X CD/DVD (DVD+/-RW)
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer | Logitech Z-5500 5.1 505-Watt
Dell UltraSharp 27" LCD Monitor | 1920x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit RC 7100


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:43 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Houston, TX
I voted manual, but that's not neccessarily true. I have it on auto for internet browsing, low intensity stuff, then change the profile to manual setting when gaming.

-=gos=-

_________________
-- XPS 630 Red --
-- Intel® Core2 Q6600 Quad-Core --
-- 4GB OCZ SLI DDR2 @ 1066MHz --
-- (2) nVidia GeForce 8800 GT 512MB SLI --
-- 500GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache --
-- 22" SP2208WFP Wide Flat Panel Monitor --


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 2:23 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
I have mine on automatic, but really it's only because every time I try to manually set it thru nvidia performance - it just keeps'em really low. I set it to 30%, I close the window, wait then reopen it and it'll have those fans set at 5% even tho' I set it to 30%.

Weird, but I try to ignore it for my own sanity.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:34 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:14 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
hairbautt wrote:
I have mine on automatic, but really it's only because every time I try to manually set it thru nvidia performance - it just keeps'em really low. I set it to 30%, I close the window, wait then reopen it and it'll have those fans set at 5% even tho' I set it to 30%.

Weird, but I try to ignore it for my own sanity.


Make sure to hit "apply" before closing the window as the changes wont take affect until you press it.

_________________
EVGA Nvidia nForce 780i FTW | BIOS SZ17
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 | Zalman CNPS9700 110mm
8GB Corsair Dominator 1066 | 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual nVidia GeForce 9800 GT SLI - 700/1750/995 | 182.85
2x 500GB WD [RAID 0] | 1x 500GB WD [Storage]
[1] Samsung 22X DVD±RW | [1] 16X CD/DVD (DVD+/-RW)
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer | Logitech Z-5500 5.1 505-Watt
Dell UltraSharp 27" LCD Monitor | 1920x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit RC 7100


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 3:44 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:10 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Prattville, AL
I'm taking it as the numbers jumping back down after he hits apply, yet the fan speed stays at the desired percent. I know mine does.

BTW, I have to go in and adjust the fan speeds every time I start Windows. For some reason, osboot won't load when Windows starts, no matter how many times I save the rule or tell it to load when started. Small, livable inconvenience that will help maintain good temps when leaving it on 24/7. Restarts don't happen often. ;)

_________________
Q6600 OC'd to 3.0 GHz
Vista HP 64 SP1
8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 800MHz
ATI HD 4850 / 22" (1680x1050)
3DMark06 - 12,518

Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:01 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Seabass7857 wrote:
hairbautt wrote:
I have mine on automatic, but really it's only because every time I try to manually set it thru nvidia performance - it just keeps'em really low. I set it to 30%, I close the window, wait then reopen it and it'll have those fans set at 5% even tho' I set it to 30%.

Weird, but I try to ignore it for my own sanity.


Make sure to hit "apply" before closing the window as the changes wont take affect until you press it.

I do. :lol: It's what Mikee says. You set the %, apply, fans never speed up, you close out, reopen and the % is reset to some other number (but not the one you selected!)

It's annoying, but my osboot profile does work...at least for my CPU fan, GPU fans and LEDs settings.

I'm not that basic. :roll:

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 4:02 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I use it manually. both 20% at normal operation and 51% both at game. A bit loud for me but I have the filter in front of the grill so I have to crank it up to 51% in order to get enough air to cool CPU and other components.

ESA work 100% at window start up for my computer. I still have trouble to create a profile for game. I have try game but everytime I select the game. It would not register in the policies profile. It keeps asking me to go back and select the .exe file that I want to open :) another bug. I asked nVidia 6 months ago about the hanging problem, but they go to tech level 3 and stuck there without a solution.

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 5:28 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 4:14 pm
Posts: 340
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
hairbautt wrote:
Seabass7857 wrote:
hairbautt wrote:
I have mine on automatic, but really it's only because every time I try to manually set it thru nvidia performance - it just keeps'em really low. I set it to 30%, I close the window, wait then reopen it and it'll have those fans set at 5% even tho' I set it to 30%.

Weird, but I try to ignore it for my own sanity.


Make sure to hit "apply" before closing the window as the changes wont take affect until you press it.

I do. :lol: It's what Mikee says. You set the %, apply, fans never speed up, you close out, reopen and the % is reset to some other number (but not the one you selected!)

It's annoying, but my osboot profile does work...at least for my CPU fan, GPU fans and LEDs settings.

I'm not that basic. :roll:


i didn't mean it like that, i simply said it because i've done that a couple times :lol:

_________________
EVGA Nvidia nForce 780i FTW | BIOS SZ17
Intel Core2 Quad Q6600 | Zalman CNPS9700 110mm
8GB Corsair Dominator 1066 | 5-5-5-15 2T
Dual nVidia GeForce 9800 GT SLI - 700/1750/995 | 182.85
2x 500GB WD [RAID 0] | 1x 500GB WD [Storage]
[1] Samsung 22X DVD±RW | [1] 16X CD/DVD (DVD+/-RW)
Creative SB X-Fi XtremeGamer | Logitech Z-5500 5.1 505-Watt
Dell UltraSharp 27" LCD Monitor | 1920x1200
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-Bit RC 7100


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 6:31 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
This is how I do when I change a profile parameter. I load "A" profile from Performance. Then I do some change at Device Control. Click Apply, then go to menu bar "Profile" I save "A" profile. If I exit control panel at this point, sometime fans or LEDs did not change to the new parameters that I just applied. So before I exit Nvidia Control Panel. I go to "Profile" at menu bar and select "LOAD" and open "A" profile. By doing this, I never have a problem with change LEDs or Fans and they won't stick to the changed.

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:15 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Seabass7857 wrote:
i didn't mean it like that, i simply said it because i've done that a couple times :lol:

Oh lol Image I've read 'roun here 'bout nVidia's screwyness with the ESA software and how the 630i may not be real ESA compatible so I figured it was just that. :-P

Wish I could control my fans some other way. Don't regularly use the A/C 'round here (and I'm in Florida) so I've noticed my temps go up a bit. But I did just get a new fan this morning from Patton...Only has three settings. Pictures provided:

Image
Only comes in three settings and they're all manual.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:47 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 1:10 pm
Posts: 253
Location: Prattville, AL
:lol: hahahahaha!!!!

YOU'VE GOTTA BE FREAKIN' KIDDING ME!!!

:lol:

_________________
Q6600 OC'd to 3.0 GHz
Vista HP 64 SP1
8GB G.Skill DDR2 @ 800MHz
ATI HD 4850 / 22" (1680x1050)
3DMark06 - 12,518

Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 8:54 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
lol! If that fan doesn't do it, I don't know what will ;^D It's like here in northern Indiana in the wintertime; just open a window when it's -15 deg. outside, and no more heat problem. :)

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2009 8:11 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Sep 25, 2008 6:20 am
Posts: 9
I use the nVidia Chassis icon fan controls on my 630, but I have added Corsair RAM fan and a Noctua fan facing into the Dell heat sink to augment the cooling. You can see my modifications pictured on flickr by doing a people search for fiachra25701.

Darrell WV


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 13, 2009 1:06 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2009 3:45 am
Posts: 2
Location: Victor, NY
I leave mine set at Auto for regular use - Internet, email, MS office, etc. I use the ESA profiles to bump them up to 30 % for certain high-load games along with my GPU and processor fans, to 80% and 60% respectively.

Mark (slider6303)

_________________
Mark
Slider6303

Dell XPS 630i Red
Intel Duo Core 2 E8500 (3.16 GHz,1333FSB 6MB cache)
4 GB Corsair DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
Nvidia GeForce 8800GT 512 MB
1 x 700 GB SATA
SoundBlaster ExtremeGamer


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Do you use automatic fan control or manual fan control?
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 03, 2009 7:47 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 10:27 am
Posts: 11
I can run mine both ways manual & auto it seems my GT8800 runs hot as there settings so i adjusted to 30% and runs 6° cooler so i happy the front fans runs on auto 1% & 10% I like to get the rear fan that is listed on some treads that would help some if i start overclocking my CPU well maybe i like i new mobo too but will wait :P

Dell XPS 630i
Q6600 Quad 2.4Mhz << Ha! (Ya it should be :lol: it 1.6Mhz)
4GB DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GT 512MB
2-500 GB HDD
Windows XP Pro
BIOS 1.0.12


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 17 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Software / Firmware / BIOS Updates


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: