Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » Unofficial Dell Support Forum » XPS 730 - General Discussion




 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Mobo Swapping...
 Post Posted: Mon Jun 21, 2010 6:02 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
Are you able to swap mobos with the XPS 730 :?: If not, why not :?: I'm trying to find out some info for a friend :mrgreen:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mobo Swapping...
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 22, 2010 2:39 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Yes you can. I had the XPS 730x, and it was an ATX form factor. The 730 and 730x are identical, except for the motherboards. The XPS 730 has a 790i Motherboard in the system. The only thing is that if he has the XPS H2C Cooling unit, it will mount to the CPU, but the chipset cooler will not fit any aftermarket motherboard.

Its pretty much the same as an XPS 630i, except a different MIO board inside. Also, the PSU can be swapped in the system too, but he will lose the MIO board functionality, meaning no lights, fans, or H2C cooling.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mobo Swapping...
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 2:57 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
This is the one with the X58 mobo. Is it still swappable :?: Thanks for responding :thumbup:

BTW...Are you aware of any links to a mobo swap for this case :?: I've been looking and have not come across one.

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mobo Swapping...
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 23, 2010 4:03 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Ahh, so its an XPS 730x. Well yes the board is still swappable. The the XPS 730 and 730x cases are identical, with the 730x having the additional theatre lighting inside when you open the door and no power is plugged in. That is the only difference really.

I had the 730x with my Asus P6T V2 inside. I think I have some pics up on the forum somewhere from when I did it. And as far as I know, there is little to no info or threads that swap the motherboards with the 730/730x. Ive searched countless hours and came across nothing when I was doing it myself. I just bit the bullet and did everything, and figured out for myself. :crazy:

The only problem you may encounter is with the H2C Cooling Unit, if the system has it. The cooling unit has the CPU block and a chipset block. The CPU block will fit any motherboard, but the chipset block will not, and will only fit the stock board. Also, the cooling unit cannot be disassembled because it is pressurized. But you can always rip it out and use a regular fan/heatsink instead. And you can fit a Prolimatech Megahalems with a good amount of room to spare.

Here was one user with the XPS 730 that did a swap here: viewtopic.php?p=26707

Basically though, its the same as a 630i. Everything is ATX. The only thing that will not be able to be swapped is the PSU, or no MIO board functionality. It uses a wierd proprietart 10 Pin cable that no standard PSU has. But the PSU is upgradeable to an Alienware 1.1KW PSU if needed, as they are the exact same dimensions, and use the same cable connection to the PSU, and MIO board.

Let me know if you got any other Q's Doc. I am glad to help anytime. :thumbup:

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Mobo Swapping...
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 24, 2010 3:54 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
Thank you sir :cool: As always I appreciate your help :mrgreen:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » Unofficial Dell Support Forum » XPS 730 - General Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: