Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Other




 [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Failed to post using stock settings
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 28, 2011 2:00 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:40 pm
Posts: 14
I have a Dell XPS 630i with the stock motherboard. I am not overclocking the system and it is running with the default bios settings. The only options I have changed are disabling the floppy drive and changing the boot order of the drives. Everything else is stock.

Here are the specs & settings:
q6600 @ 2.4ghz
stock MOBO
4 1gb DIMMS of Corsair Dominator 800mhz EPP memory
-the memory is not overclocked. It is rated for 1066mhz, at timings of 5-5-5-15, at 2.2v
however since it is not overclocked and running to stock bios settings of 800mhz, 5-5-5-18, and 1.85v
Dell ATI Radeon HD 5770
DVD/RW drive
stock 750W PSU
Windows Vista 32bit
Hitachi 320gb hard drive
BIOS version 1.0.13 (the latest bios)
I use the Nvidia ESA tools 6.06 to control fan speeds

The RAM and video cards have tested good on other systems. I'm kinda at a loss here. As I said no overclock. System runs great, but in the morning when I turn the computer back on I get the setting has failed to post message:

Setting has failed to POST
System is using default setting for this POST attempt
Press F1 to continue, F2 to enter SETUP to adjust OC/OV setting

I know you can get this message when the system is unstable from overclocking, but again I am not overclocking the machine. It only happens in the morning after it has been off all night. Also I think if I leave it unplugged all night and then plug it back it and turn it on I don't get the message. It is only when it is plugged in all night while powered off. I need to test to confirm this, but I believe this to be the case. Thanks!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to post using stock settings
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 3:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:40 pm
Posts: 14
FYI, i uninstalled the ESA 6.06 system utilities and that has solved the problem. I had a profile set to launch at startup and that seemed to cause confilcts. The only problem is that I wanted to use the ESA utilities to control the CPU fan speeds because you can't control the CPU fan with the dell thermal monitor. I think I'll try the ESA 6.03 utilities and have a profile launch not when windows starts, but when the CPU temp reaches a certain temperature.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Failed to post using stock settings
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 29, 2011 4:48 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
The only ESA utilities that I have been able to get to work more or less correctly is version 6.03 and I have it set to launch at startup. I use it for CPU and Case fans. All of the newer version have never worked correctly for me.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 3 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Other


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: