Forum          FAQ

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Other

[ 10 posts ] 
 Post subject: Troubleshooting problems
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 2:26 am 

Steam ID: devjonfos
Caveat: I'm not an engineer, nor do I work as a technician, nor do I have an A+ certification. And this is not a substitute for proper Dell support if that option is available to you.

Purpose: Troubleshoot BSOD's and Lockups

Platform: Any PC

When I built my second to last computer (the one before my Dell XPS 630), I started with just a very basic configuration: The motherboard, cpu, ram, power supply, and optical drive. And I used the built-in motherboard video. When I got this configuration to boot, I then went to a Memtest CD, and ran Memtest86+ for several hours. This verified my memory and was an initial test of my system's stability.

Notice the above is absent a dedicated graphics card, hard drive, and operating system. Those three items can be a source of BSOD's and Lockups.

Your basic system (motherboard, cpu, ram, and power supply) can also be a source of lockups including the dreaded "beep, beep, beep" from the motherboard speaker when you first build a system. But having verified your basic system, you've established a foundation from which to work from.

I believe some of you having BSOD's and Lockups need to strip down your XPS 630's to just a basic system and boot from an optical drive only. You can boot a Memtest CD or a Linux Live CD. If you can achieve system stability with such a basic system, then you've troubleshooted your problem, and isolated it to the hard drive, operating system, or dedicated graphics system.

Now you add your other components back, one by one, testing for stability with each addition.