Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » Unofficial Dell Support Forum




 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: My 630 Winows Experience Score
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 12:31 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:00 am
Posts: 2
Steam ID: denautn
I have the XPS 630 with 8 gigs of Ram(Samsung MS78T5663EH3-CF7 2Gb Dimm DDr2 PC2-6400 DDr2 800 (5-6-6-18-3-24-6-3@800 Mhz)(Timing@400mhz-Im confused?)each. My Windows experience score is 5.9 except the memory is 5.5. Is my memory slow?Can I overclock it to improve the score or buy faster RAM?


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: My 630 Winows Experience Score
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 2:30 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Im guessing you have a Q6600 with a 1066Mhz FSB. That is what is causing your memory to run slower. The CPU FSB and RAM FSB are linked, so they run together. OC your FSB on your motherboard to 1333MHz, which will also OC your CPU, and you should get your desired WEI Score. I think you can also unlink the FSB, which might help, but im not sure. Its been a while since i have used a LGA 775 board.

Just to let you know though, the WEI (windows experience rating) is not something to worry about. Its just a score.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: My 630 Winows Experience Score
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 5:29 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2009 3:00 am
Posts: 2
Steam ID: denautn
Thanks for the advice.Though I have the Q9400(2666Mz)(8x333).I'm a newb.What would you specify for that?Thanks.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: My 630 Winows Experience Score
 Post Posted: Thu Oct 29, 2009 7:04 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I have heard that running the stock motherboard with all the slots full will make the memory run in single channel mode, but not too sure on that one. Try running with only 4GB of ram, in only the 2 black slots, and run the WEI again, and see if that works.

I only had 4GB in my system with a Q6600 and i got all 5.9. So try that and see if it works.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » Unofficial Dell Support Forum


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: