Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows 7




 [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 5:39 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
is there a way to install just windows from a suplied disk from say, Dell or HP, without all the bloat-ware that comes with it?

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:04 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Didn't your XPS 630i come with a Windows Vista Reinstallation DVD?

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 8:44 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:05 am
Posts: 745
Location: Earlville, IA
Ive noticed that companies are getting cheap and not sending out the windows install disc :wtf: I had this with accer and a friend just bought a Dell XPS laptop and neither one came with the os on a disc which I think is bs :thumbdown: I like to reinstall windows and drivers when I did get a new pc to get rid of the nasty bloatware ;)

I have used a free program like PCdecrapifier:

http://pcdecrapifier.com/

Isn't too bad IMO...

_________________
HAF 912/ ASROCK / 2500K
GTX 560ti/ 8g 1600mhz
Corsair TX 650 / (2) Hard Drives
W7 64bit Pro / Coolermaster 212+


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:37 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
Yea I got a vista disk. But the reason I ask is that my gpu will be here to day, but windows7 wont till tomorrow or Thursday. I justI wanna put my rig togeather. Wondering if I borrowed a disk that was from dell, if I I could use it then use my key when it shows up. But I don't want all the crap that comes with a dell disk. Come to think of it, I don't think an oem key will work with any other version huh? I think im just gonna have to wait one more day. Grrr

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 9:58 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
On any Windows Disc, no matter it be from Dell, HP, or a retail/oem, its just bare Windows, hence why its an Operating System Reinstallation DVD. If you ever looked on top of your Vista Disc, it should even say that there are no programs or drivers on the left side somewhere.

There is no difference to using the Dell or a retail Windows disc, unless you are using the stock board, in which Windows activates automatically with the Dell Disc and not with the retail disc.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:38 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
good stuff.thx for the info. ill look a see if my wifes laptop came w/ a copy. i believe your supose to make your own disk w/ alot of newer pcs. one more thing, say her version isnt sp1 or 2 or whatever, does windows update take care of that, or are they differant in some way?
thx

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Tue Dec 06, 2011 11:56 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
If it does not have the latest updates, Windows will update it.

Most computers nowadays, if you buy from Best Buy, etc, will have you make your own. Dell offers the option when purchasing a computer for a copy of the OS disc for like $9 or something. Other high end systems, such as their Alienware lineup, have it provided at no extra cost.

The other thing is, if you use a Dell or HP Windows Disc, the retail key will probably not work with that disc. You will have to use the retail dvd and key.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:07 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
ok cool. thx. saved me some hassel. /sigh. ill "hurry up and wait" i guess.
thx again

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 12:31 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
FWIW, manufacturers such as ASUS are now defaulting to no media with new PCs; instead giving you the "option" of creating a set of "recovery" DVDs which is nothing more than a bloatware-infested copy of Windows (and which, in my case, didn't even work). They even go so far as to create a partition on your hard drive with the bloatware ISO on it, so you have to manually delete the partition using a clean copy of Windows to properly eradicate it.

Needless to say, it's very annoying. Lower hardware costs are likely in part because of advertising revenue these companies get from pulling these stunts. :evil:

The good news is that you can download and create a proper, clean Windows install disc (with a special tweak that deletes the ei.cfg file) and use it just fine with whatever product key you have. All Windows cares about is that you've installed the right copy of Windows for the product key you own.

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:08 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
"Lower hardware costs are likely in part because of advertising revenue these companies get from pulling these stunts."

i have heard this on several podcasts. and when u say "bloatware-infested copy", thats the deal where u have to make ur own copy from the partition right? but a physical disk is just the os? ok i think i got it.

now, correct me if im wrong here. if i wait till my os shows up(home premium), use ei.cfg Removal Utility to make a an iso. burn that iso to disk. install w/ my key. ill have the option to activate ultimate?

this is where i read about it here. or am i reading it wrong? way cool if i can :cool:

edit: oh nevermind. i guess ya cant :yawn:

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 1:49 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
gdonner wrote:
FWIW, manufacturers such as ASUS are now defaulting to no media with new PCs; instead giving you the "option" of creating a set of "recovery" DVDs which is nothing more than a bloatware-infested copy of Windows (and which, in my case, didn't even work). They even go so far as to create a partition on your hard drive with the bloatware ISO on it, so you have to manually delete the partition using a clean copy of Windows to properly eradicate it.

Needless to say, it's very annoying. Lower hardware costs are likely in part because of advertising revenue these companies get from pulling these stunts. :evil:

The good news is that you can download and create a proper, clean Windows install disc (with a special tweak that deletes the ei.cfg file) and use it just fine with whatever product key you have. All Windows cares about is that you've installed the right copy of Windows for the product key you own.

Greg, since you have an ASUS laptop, you can actually use a Dell, HP, etc Windows Disc and just replace the certificate with an ASUS one, and you will have the thing auto activated without needing a key. :D

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:55 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Quote:
Greg, since you have an ASUS laptop, you can actually use a Dell, HP, etc Windows Disc and just replace the certificate with an ASUS one, and you will have the thing auto activated without needing a key.


Good point! In my ignorance though, what I ended up doing is just downloading the ISO, and creating a "neutered" (not specific to any particular version) install disc. I did this in part for a friend who had an identical problem with his ASUS laptop.

Quote:
I have heard this on several podcasts. And when you say "bloatware-infested copy", that's the deal where you have to make your own copy from the partition right? But a physical disk is just the OK? OK I think i got it.


Right--ASUS claims it's to "go green" but you actually end up using five or six DVDs, instead of just one (and using their burn utility, none of them actually worked) :!: Frankly, it's a PR-level excuse that completely fails. I suspect Dell is one of the few manufacturers left that actually still give you a real, bloatware-free Windows install disc. Most others have decided to cut corners.

Quote:
Now, correct me if I'm wrong here. If I wait till my OS shows up (Home Premium), use ei.cfg Removal Utility to make an ISO. Burn that ISO to disk. Install w/ my key. I'll have the option to activate Ultimate?


No; the version of Windows is only as good as your product key, which contains the version of Windows you paid for. So if you installed Windows as Ultimate (using your "neutered/wildcard" install disc), then entered your product key which says you only paid for Home Premium, Windows will figure out that you lied, and fail to validate. The only benefit of a "wildcard" Windows install disc is the fact that it has no bloatware on it--not a means of using a better version of Windows than you paid for. :)

Personally, I'm glad I bought an OEM Windows 7 disc with SP1 built-in, because you can't slipstream Windows 7 (AFAIK anyway), so it saves time with fewer updates with each install.

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:24 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
ill keep this in mind tho. the wife has a Satellite L770 from bestbuy. same deal, no disk. bestbuy tried to sell her some package that, i think they just copy from partition for u, and some other junk. but this info is handy for if/when she needs a reinstal. ill use my copy w/ this tool. awsome info.

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 4:39 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Not only does Best Buy do that, but they also remove the reinstall discs from systems that actually come with them, specifically so they can get you to pay for their reinstall DVD which is just an image of your hard drive.

My dad purchased a Dell XPS desktop from Best Buy for his business, and when we took the computer home, we noticed that the box inside where the manuals and DVD's were kept had been cut open, and there were no DVD's inside. And Best Buy kept trying to convince me to buy their warranty during checkout when the computer came with Dell's 1 year warranty. Nonetheless, I called up Dell and asked them to ship me the discs since they were not in there, which they did. I even verified on the order that the DVD's were listed on there.

The Dell tech support agent even told me Best Buy has them send the systems without DVD's now so that Best Buy can sell their "package" to customers. My cousin fell for that "package" and they charged her $99 to remove the bloatware and make her a DVD backup image. $99 to burn a disc and remove programs from control panel? Best Buy is nothing but a rip off. Not to mention, all their PC hardware is overpriced.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:38 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 3:00 pm
Posts: 112
Steam ID: SlaughtrHousJak
X2
agreed. i live in a smaller town so im limmited if want some thing now. but ya cant pay me enough to shop at game stop. but ill save that rant for another thread. :evil:

_________________
Old:Dell XPS 630i/Q6600/HD 3870's CrossFireX/4.00 GB RAM/Vista32
New: 630i Case/ASRock P67 Extreme6
i5-2400 3.10GHz
EVGA GTX560Ti SC 1024MB/ 8GB G.Skill RipjawsX DDR3-1600
Belkin n52te/ Razor Naga/ HP 2009m 1600x900 60Hz/Asus VH238H 23" LED
Built with the help from the guys at my630i.com Thx Guys!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 2:17 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Here are two links that have been helpful to me in this regard:

http://forum.notebookreview.com/windows ... efore.html

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/For ... 17391cf4bf

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Bloat-ware on Dell/HP/Ect. Windows disk. work around?
 Post Posted: Thu Aug 30, 2012 4:28 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 14, 2008 5:03 am
Posts: 204
Location: Wasatch Mountains
gdonner wrote:



Thanks.

_________________
Upgraded XPS 630 - Devils Canyon i7-4790K | 16GB | Samsung 850EVO | ASUS Z97Pro(WiFi) | Windows 10 | Seasonic 650 Gold PSU | GTX 750i

Latest Build: Skylake i7-6700K | ASUS Z170i | NZXT Kraken X41 Cooler | NZXT Manta Case | Seasonic Platinum SS-660 | Samsung 950 Pro NVME M.2| G.Skill Ripjaws V 16GB 2666 | MSI GTX 950 | Windows 10 | Dell 24" 1920x1200 x2


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 17 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows 7


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: