Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows 7




 [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 5:23 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
It always nags the crap out of me and I've of course tried Google. But what is this?!

http://www.sevenforums.com/general-disc ... hrome.html

Quick post: Image

Not my screenshot, but it's the same exact issue. It happens occasionally when I boot up and sometimes a restart will clear it up. Other times it'll still be there. Also, Trillian is set to display my current song that I'm listening to and the musical note will be a ☐ character which of course means that same character shows up in Win7 Audio mixer.

Here's a screenshot of what it should look like. I'll post what I'm getting next time I restart, but it's just like the quick screenie I posted above.

Image

Very annoying, any ideas?

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 7:11 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Wow, I have never seen this happen in Windows before.

Does it happen in programs/internet as well, or just at the desktop?

And when did it start happening?

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 3:43 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
It only occurs in Trillian and the Windows 7 Audio Mixer window (what's shown above).

Took me awhile to Google the right words...but yea. I think it's just RealTek bug as that's the only common denominator that I can see.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:02 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I would assume the same man.

BTW, how did you get the volume mixer to recognize your speaker system?

Never seen that before.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:07 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Image

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 4:09 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Don't judge me. :rofl:

No but really, I guess my realtek chip is different than yours, because the driver software does not allow me to change it.

EDIT - nvm, I found it in the Windows one. Wow, I really failed at this one. Too much SWTOR this weekend.....

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Font Issue within Win7 Audio Mixer
 Post Posted: Fri Jan 06, 2012 7:02 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Well, I updated my Realtek drivers since I was using the set from Dell's site (figured Dell's would work best since it's a Dell mobo). That seems to be the only common denominator - that we're all using Realtek audio.

Booted up fine, no strange characters. Yet. Will have to boot multiple times, but I only do it once a week so I'll edit later if things go wrong.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 7 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows 7


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot], DotNetDotCom.org [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: