Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Upgrade / Modification / Overclocking Discussion




 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 0x0000001A - xps360i and vista
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 3:16 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:24 pm
Posts: 42
does disabling the raid config on XPS360i make you lost the guarantee? Will the tech support help you if you lost the utility partition? I have from the beggining a win blue screen 0x0000001A while installing vista with the dvd...


Last edited by niklespam on Wed Oct 29, 2008 7:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: does disabling the raid config on XPS360i.....
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 4:48 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 31, 2008 5:54 am
Posts: 63
Location: Columbus, Ohio
niklespam wrote:
does disabling the raid config on XPS360i make you lost the guarantee? Will the tech support help you if you lost the utility partition?


You're taking warranty versus support -- two different things. The hardware parts are convered under warranty as long as there is no evidence you damaged the equipment. The RAID is a feature of the hardware so removing it will not void your warranty. You're always allowed to reconfigure your computer. But, for example, if you replaced your Motherboard (because you were pissed about the 8x Lane issue) with another manufacturer, then that probably voids your Dell warranty (not the new motherboard's warranty) and they won't provide any support because it's not their hardware.

You should have received a Windows disc along with your system for reinstallation. They shouldn't care if you "blow away" (i.e. completely reformat) your hard drive (including the Utility partition) and install fresh -- and they may even help you do that. A lot of people, including myself, always reformat the drives when they get a new system to get rid of any preinstalled crap.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i Black
Intel Core2 Quad Q9450 OC @ 2960MHz 1480MHz FSB
8GB OCZ Reaper RAM OC @ 986.878MHz
(1) 300GB 10K RPM w/Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
(1) 160GB 10K RPM w/XP Professional SP3 32-bit
Dual nVidia 8800GT in SLI Mode
SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Ageis PhysX Card
Purchased 08/25/2008 Dell Outlet


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: does disabling the raid config on XPS360i.....
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:02 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 2717
Location: Bristol, UK
Steam ID: billybigfoot
Chris_M over on DCF cleared up the question on warrenty as far as replaceing the mobo is concerned, Dell will still cover the parts they have supplied as long as the warrenty is still in force. The replacement mobo will obviously have the manufacturers warrenty.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: does disabling the raid config on XPS360i.....
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 26, 2008 7:57 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:09 pm
Posts: 1323
Location: Oregon
Steam ID: devjonfos
wchestnut wrote:
...You're always allowed to reconfigure your computer...You should have received a Windows disc along with your system for reinstallation. They shouldn't care if you "blow away" (i.e. completely reformat) your hard drive (including the Utility partition) and install fresh -- and they may even help you do that...


I haven't blow away any of my original Windows partitions(utility, main, recovery), but I did disable RAID 1 mirroring, and I installed an additional hard drive which I use for Fedora Linux. I'm not sure what kind of phone support I would get if I called in and said my Windows partition is working fine, but could you help me with my Linux configuration. ;)

_________________
XPS 630 Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz OC | Win 7 Pro 64-bit/Win XP Pro 32-bit | 4GB DC DDR2 800MHz |
BFG OCE GTX 275 896MB | 500GB SATA No RAID | 16X CD/DVD Burner Single Drive |
Sound Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio | BIOS 1.0.8 | 3DMark06 16465 3DMark Vantage P13033
Image
My XPS 630 Blog


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: does disabling the raid config on XPS360i.....
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 29, 2008 6:38 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:24 pm
Posts: 42
i've rang the tech support... they didn't worry about me disabling the RAID like you were saying and after pushing me into some tests about the memory and the 3D card they finally told me we are two with the same computer (xps 630i) experimenting the windows blue screen 0x0000001A with vista... I told them they are more than two facing this kind of problem with the coputer according to all kinds of dell forums. They said there is a known problem of compatibility with vista and they would have to contact windows to find a solution... At this point they would get on my nerv so i answer i paid for a working computer wich they dont gave me and I paid for a complete tech support so I won't have to bother myself about such things... Finally they apologize as I expected and they call me on thursday to find a solution... I hope they won't push me to far or I will begin to contacts all the users facing such problems... (sorry for my english as you can see it's not my native language).


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: 0x0000001A - xps360i and vista
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 12, 2008 9:57 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 7:12 am
Posts: 547
soooo, what finally happened?

M$

_________________
The Rock-630i/780iFTW/QX6850@3.80ghzBoreasMTEC12Chiller&ChillPill Custom cooling 2-8800GT AlphaDogs Koolance 278Blocks/OCZPlat1066 2x2gb/(2)10krpm Raptrs Raid0 & (3)WD-HDD's=2TB's
Nekid-CoolerMaster CM690/MSI-P6N Diamond/Q6600@3.0ghz/Samsung 2x2gb 800mhz/(2)9800GT's/TX2 HSF/CorsairTX850W/(2)WD 160gb Raid 0
Bare Nekid-MSI-P6N Diamond/E7200@3.2ghz/OCZ ReaperX1000mhz 2x2gb/(2)8800GT's/Corsair TX750W PSU/160gb WD HDD
Buck Nekid-Xion-303/Dell'd 650iMobo/Q6600@3.15ghz/Naya 4x1gb 667mhz/(2)8800GT's SLI/750W PSU/320gb WD HDD


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: 0x0000001A - xps360i and vista
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:45 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:24 pm
Posts: 42
all is now fixed. they replaced mobo and cpu. i formated it worked well. for more information you can also go to my "Windows defender causes ntune profile crash?" post in the "Fan / Light / Master I/O / HDD Light / LightFX 2.0 Problems" section of the forum. thank you all for your help


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: 0x0000001A - xps360i and vista
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 7:51 pm
Posts: 26
so is this problem unfixable? i have just acquired a 630i and tried to install vista but get the same BSOD as mentioned in the title.

i have tried everything and can't get rid of it?

what can i do, is there anything i can do without replacing parts as mine isn't under warranty from dell


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: 0x0000001A - xps360i and vista
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 6:15 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 23, 2008 7:12 am
Posts: 547
how many sticks of ram do you have in it and what are they, size&speed.
what are you trying to do, install a fresh copy of vista?
what version of vista or whatever are you trying to use?

M$

_________________
The Rock-630i/780iFTW/QX6850@3.80ghzBoreasMTEC12Chiller&ChillPill Custom cooling 2-8800GT AlphaDogs Koolance 278Blocks/OCZPlat1066 2x2gb/(2)10krpm Raptrs Raid0 & (3)WD-HDD's=2TB's
Nekid-CoolerMaster CM690/MSI-P6N Diamond/Q6600@3.0ghz/Samsung 2x2gb 800mhz/(2)9800GT's/TX2 HSF/CorsairTX850W/(2)WD 160gb Raid 0
Bare Nekid-MSI-P6N Diamond/E7200@3.2ghz/OCZ ReaperX1000mhz 2x2gb/(2)8800GT's/Corsair TX750W PSU/160gb WD HDD
Buck Nekid-Xion-303/Dell'd 650iMobo/Q6600@3.15ghz/Naya 4x1gb 667mhz/(2)8800GT's SLI/750W PSU/320gb WD HDD


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Upgrade / Modification / Overclocking Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot], Exabot [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: