Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Upgrade / Modification / Overclocking Discussion




 [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:34 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:58 am
Posts: 4
Hello all! I Have a Dell Studio XPS 630i (Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Quad CPU Q9550 @ 2.83GHz with 8GB RAM) with Vista Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64-bit -- and am upgrading to Windows 7; 64 bit real soon. I want to upgrade my current graphics cards --which are 2x ATI Radeon (512 MB) 4800 Series with Crossfire enabled. Also, my PSU is 750 watts. I was thinking of staying the same route with two GPUs; however, I was wondering if I should stay with two cards, or purchase a single card. I was thinking of the ATI Radeon 2GB 6970. If I choose a single card, is this one good enough to run newer games? Should I get two of them instead? Maybe two 1GB cards and enable Crossfire? Or two 2GB cards and enable Crossfire? Or just one 2GB card? Or just one 1GB card? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
Dell Studio XPS 630i
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
8GB DDR2 (PC2-6400) 400MHz (DDR2 800)
2x ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512MB); Crossfire Enabled
500GB WD SATA HDD
Dell 750w PSU
21.5" Dell S2209W; 16:9 LCD 1080p
Windows Vista Home Premium x64

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alienware M15x Laptop
Intel Core i7-920XM @ 2.00GHz
8GB DDR3 (1333MHz PC3-10600) SDRAM
nVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M 1.5GB (GF106M)
750GB WD SATA HDD; 5400 RPM
BD-ROM Player/DVD±RW Drive (CA10N)
150W PSU + 6 Cell Battery
15.6" RGB WLED 1920x1080p
Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 8:39 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Welcome to the forum.

First off, we should start with what monitor resolution you are running, so we can proceed from there. Secondly, if you are thinking about ATI cards on the stock board and PSU, you might want to check out this thread first:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=4145

Also, what games are you planning on playing? Depending on your resolution and choice of games, you may be going overkill with two GPUs.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sat Nov 05, 2011 10:11 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:58 am
Posts: 4
Thanks for the quick reply! :) That thread (#5 especially) literally just kicked me in the teeth. I don't want to change anything other than the GPUs. I like my 630i the way it is; although it looks like I am going to have to get a single GPU.

My current monitor is a Dell S2209W 21.5" Widescreen LCD Monitor. And the my current (and max) resolution is 1920x1080. However, I am upgrading to a Dell S2230MX 21.5" Ultra-Slim Monitor with LED, in the next few months (which is the same resolution). As far as the games go, I play WoW frequently, and am buying SW:ToR when it comes out; also, I love FPS shooters as well.

_________________
Dell Studio XPS 630i
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
8GB DDR2 (PC2-6400) 400MHz (DDR2 800)
2x ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512MB); Crossfire Enabled
500GB WD SATA HDD
Dell 750w PSU
21.5" Dell S2209W; 16:9 LCD 1080p
Windows Vista Home Premium x64

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alienware M15x Laptop
Intel Core i7-920XM @ 2.00GHz
8GB DDR3 (1333MHz PC3-10600) SDRAM
nVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M 1.5GB (GF106M)
750GB WD SATA HDD; 5400 RPM
BD-ROM Player/DVD±RW Drive (CA10N)
150W PSU + 6 Cell Battery
15.6" RGB WLED 1920x1080p
Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 9:21 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 16, 2010 6:36 am
Posts: 425
Location: South Florida
Steam ID: scvrazoray27
SWEET avatar. Although I'm more of a Ryu/Dudley/Oro/Abel guy.

_________________
MSI P67A-GD65 :: Intel Core i5 3570K 3.4 GHz :: 8 Gb GSkill 1600 Mhz Cas 8 :: MSI N470GTX :: 750Gb 7.2k WD Caviar Blue :: Prolimatech Megahalem Cooler :: Win 7 64 Home


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 5:28 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I think a single HD 6950 or HD 6970 will work out perfectly for you on that resolution. The HD 6970 may be a bit overkill, but if you don't plan to upgrade anything else for a while and don't mind the extra $$$, then go for it.

However, Nvidia is also a great choice for graphics. A Geforce GTX 570 will also run everything for you perfectly. Also, if you are still on Vista, an upgrade to Windows 7 will also do wonders. :D

Just make sure to clear out all your old drivers before installing your new card.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 7:39 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
I like the way my 6950 2GB handles 1080p, especially when it's unlock to match an OC'ed 6970 :clap:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:08 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
drBlahMan wrote:
I like the way my 6950 2GB handles 1080p, especially when it's unlock to match an OC'ed 6970 :clap:


This is also a solution if you are more tech saavy. But this requires a reference design HD 6950.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 06, 2011 8:24 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
drBlahMan wrote:
I like the way my 6950 2GB handles 1080p, especially when it's unlock to match an OC'ed 6970 :clap:


This is also a solution if you are more tech saavy. But this requires a reference design HD 6950.


OR a *Sapphire TOXIC 6950 2GB (averages 98% unlocking 6970 shaders success), Sapphire FLEX 6950 2GB (averages 70% full bios unlocking success) or Sapphire Dirt 3 Edition 2GB (averages 60% full bios unlocking success). Also the MSI 6950 2GB TFIII is only a good candidate for unlocking the 6970 shaders only. The Sapphire cards I had mentioned & the reference 6950 2GB cards were designed to handle the partial 6970 bios mod (unlocking 6970 shaders only) and the full 6970 bios mod (unlocking 6970 shaders + core/memory speed).

The reference 6950s and the *Sapphire TOXIC 6950 share the highest percentage chance to be fully unlocked to the 6970. All of the 6950 2GB cards were made to handle the partial 6970 bios mod (unlocking 6970 shaders only).

*Regarding the Sapphire TOXIC 6950 2GB, the card is already OC out the box to the 6970 core & memory speed. With this gpu, all that is needed is to unlock the 6970 shaders. It is equipped with a 6+8pin connectors which allows sufficient power to be OC'ed even further. With Sapphire gpus, it is best to use the Sapphire Trixx OC utility*

IMO, I think the best route to go is unlocking the 6970 shaders and use MSI Afterburner or Sapphire Trixx OC utility and OC to match the speed of the 6970 or overvolt the gpu and OC it to be faster than the 6970.

If you go this route, make sure you understand all the required info to make this happen & remember, it's your own fault if you screw-up your gpu ;)

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 07, 2011 9:13 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:58 am
Posts: 4
drBlahMan wrote:
If you go this route, make sure you understand all the required info to make this happen & remember, it's your own fault if you screw-up your gpu ;)


Thanks for the tips. As I'm not very savvy with over-clocking -- of any kind -- I think I will buy the Sapphire Toxic one (when I can -- it seems that it is out of stock everywhere :thumbdown:) and leave it alone. Thanks to everyone for all the replies! :clap:

_________________
Dell Studio XPS 630i
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
8GB DDR2 (PC2-6400) 400MHz (DDR2 800)
2x ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512MB); Crossfire Enabled
500GB WD SATA HDD
Dell 750w PSU
21.5" Dell S2209W; 16:9 LCD 1080p
Windows Vista Home Premium x64

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alienware M15x Laptop
Intel Core i7-920XM @ 2.00GHz
8GB DDR3 (1333MHz PC3-10600) SDRAM
nVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M 1.5GB (GF106M)
750GB WD SATA HDD; 5400 RPM
BD-ROM Player/DVD±RW Drive (CA10N)
150W PSU + 6 Cell Battery
15.6" RGB WLED 1920x1080p
Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 14, 2011 11:11 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:23 pm
Posts: 13
Just brought the 6950 toxic card on the strength of the advice on here and i am very pleased with it. Thanks

_________________
XPS 630i Case
Antec signature 850w PSU
ASRock P67 Extreme4 MoBo
Intel i5 2500k CPU
Cooler Master hyper 212 plus
8Gb 1600mhz corsair vengeance DDR3
128 Gb crucial M4 ssd
2 x 640 Gb hdd in raid 0
Sapphire Toxic 6950 2Gb
Windows 7 64 bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 4:56 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
kar2nist1979 wrote:
As I'm not very savvy with over-clocking -- of any kind -- I think I will buy the Sapphire Toxic one (when I can -- it seems that it is out of stock everywhere :thumbdown:) and leave it alone. Thanks to everyone for all the replies! :clap:


If you're still looking for a 6950 that can be unlocked, here you are... SAPPHIRE FleX 6950 or Sapphire 6950 2GB :D If you want an OC'ed 6950 that's on par with the 6950 TOXIC, here you are...
MSI 6950 TFIII PE/OC :cool:

BTW...The procedure to unlocking a 6950 2GB card is very, very simple...as long the card has a bios switch.

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: XPS 630i -- GPU (single or dual?) Upgrade
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 03, 2012 6:16 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 4:58 am
Posts: 4
Hello. Thanks again everyone for all your previous replies. :mrgreen: I'm back now, and I bought the "HIS IceQ Turbo Radeon HD 6970; 2GB 256-bit GDDR5". It arrived from Newegg today and I 'was' so stoked! Now, this is where the 'n00b' in me comes out: I installed the card just fine; however, I did NOT know that it needs a 8-pin connector along with the 6 pin connector. :oops: I have the 750W PSU, isn't that enough to handle the one card? I am not going Crossfire, nor buying another card. Am I screwed? I really don't want to buy a different PSU. How did you guys get your cards to work? My 630i came with two ATI Radeon 4800s -- thus the two 6 pin connectors. :( Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. I want to play my SWTOR. :evil:

_________________
Dell Studio XPS 630i
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 2.83GHz
8GB DDR2 (PC2-6400) 400MHz (DDR2 800)
2x ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series (512MB); Crossfire Enabled
500GB WD SATA HDD
Dell 750w PSU
21.5" Dell S2209W; 16:9 LCD 1080p
Windows Vista Home Premium x64

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Alienware M15x Laptop
Intel Core i7-920XM @ 2.00GHz
8GB DDR3 (1333MHz PC3-10600) SDRAM
nVIDIA GeForce GTX 460M 1.5GB (GF106M)
750GB WD SATA HDD; 5400 RPM
BD-ROM Player/DVD±RW Drive (CA10N)
150W PSU + 6 Cell Battery
15.6" RGB WLED 1920x1080p
Windows 7 Home Premium x64


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 12 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Upgrade / Modification / Overclocking Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: