Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home




 [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:57 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
JDookie wrote:
It looks like you did everything right. I honestly don't understand why it isn't working. Have you tried typing "fah6.exe -configonly" as a command?? I'm sure you have, but I didn't see it in the list of attempts.

I have work tomorrow, so I'm going down for the night. I will get back on tomorrow and follow up some more.

Jason,

If I remember correctly, you actually had to type in the extension .exe with the command correct? I'm not using the smp version, but do you have to use the -smp switch with the -configonly switch? Or just when running the program?

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 8:19 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
KevinK37 wrote:
JDookie wrote:
It looks like you did everything right. I honestly don't understand why it isn't working. Have you tried typing "fah6.exe -configonly" as a command?? I'm sure you have, but I didn't see it in the list of attempts.

I have work tomorrow, so I'm going down for the night. I will get back on tomorrow and follow up some more.

Jason,

If I remember correctly, you actually had to type in the extension .exe with the command correct? I'm not using the smp version, but do you have to use the -smp switch with the -configonly switch? Or just when running the program?

Kevin


That part is unclear, based on some other sites I have checked on; the command should be: C:\FAH>FAH6.exe -smp -configonly. So, I will continue to work on this until something changes.

Thanks

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 10:10 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
Type: fah6 -configonly and nothing come up? Have you check your anti-virus software yet? Disable it or allow the smp to operate. Also Disable User Account Control if you have Vista. I can't remember how many time I have tried to figure this bugged out but days or even week on it. But once I get the FAHSpy software install. I could run the smp as an anonymous, then go into FAHSpy to re-configurate everything as I like to have such as username, team number, passkey etc... Then I make a shortcut of fah6 at desktop and run it as administration each time I want to run SMP client.

Have fun to make folding work guys. You will feel must better when you could google and figure it out yourself :lol:

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:31 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
naya wrote:
Type: fah6 -configonly and nothing come up? Have you check your anti-virus software yet? Disable it or allow the smp to operate. Also Disable User Account Control if you have Vista. I can't remember how many time I have tried to figure this bugged out but days or even week on it. But once I get the FAHSpy software install. I could run the smp as an anonymous, then go into FAHSpy to re-configurate everything as I like to have such as username, team number, passkey etc... Then I make a shortcut of fah6 at desktop and run it as administration each time I want to run SMP client.

Have fun to make folding work guys. You will feel must better when you could google and figure it out yourself :lol:


naya, this is becoming a real pain in the backside! Everything you suggest I have done, I do not have Vista Account Controls enabled...in fact never have. My firewall is disabled and I have folding allowed in the program. Not sure what else to do here. :x

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:44 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
From your image. I believe you have reverse the step 3 and 4 on Ben Peterson sticky.

2. Create a new folder on the root of your C: drive called FAH (so your new folder should be c:\FAH.

3. Run the installer selecting the following options: Install for all users.. and change the directory that it's installing to so that it installs to your new c:\FAH folder. Finishing the installer will simply exit the installer with a successful message... nothing is running at this point.

4. Open your new FAH folder and find the file named: Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe, right click and rename to: FAH6.exe.

You should run the installer before you change the Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe to FAH6.exe.

Part from these reverse I don't see that you did anything different from what I did :lol:

So if you were not too much in pain. Go into control panel and un-install the FAH things relate to SMP Client. Get another fresh start and did exactly the instruction at the sticky :D

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 11:59 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
naya wrote:
From your image. I believe you have reverse the step 3 and 4 on Ben Peterson sticky.

2. Create a new folder on the root of your C: drive called FAH (so your new folder should be c:\FAH.

3. Run the installer selecting the following options: Install for all users.. and change the directory that it's installing to so that it installs to your new c:\FAH folder. Finishing the installer will simply exit the installer with a successful message... nothing is running at this point.

4. Open your new FAH folder and find the file named: Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe, right click and rename to: FAH6.exe.

You should run the installer before you change the Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe to FAH6.exe.

Part from these reverse I don't see that you did anything different from what I did :lol:

So if you were not too much in pain. Go into control panel and un-install the FAH things relate to SMP Client. Get another fresh start and did exactly the instruction at the sticky :D

naya


Here is what I did: Created the folder in the C; as C:\FAH
Click the Start Menu Icon and run the cmd as Admin
At the cmd prompt type: CD\FAH
At the cmd prompt type: install.bat
At the cmd prompt for user name type: done
At the cmd prompt for password type: done
At the cmd prompt verify password type: done
After the verfications etc: hit enter

cmd prompt: C:\FAH>fah6 -configonly.........................

NO JOY! If I am missing something let me know.

Thanks

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:46 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
So here is what happen. I just got home and try to get my SMP Client run. I haven't done it for a while. Damn, I got nothing. And I uninstall, reinstall. Still get the same result. It go no where after type fah6 -configonly. So I am lost. Google but find no result. I went back to the link where the SMP client. Damn, It was expired 2009-07-04 :lol:

Okay I am in the middle of download the other version of SMP client.

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 2:55 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I downloaded this version and quickly get it run.

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Download the Drop-in binary for current Windows SMP console client (6.24) Expires July 4, 2010

There is window icon below it. I just download and quickly go through the same parameter set up and get it work.

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:04 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
naya wrote:
I downloaded this version and quickly get it run.

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Download the Drop-in binary for current Windows SMP console client (6.24) Expires July 4, 2010

There is window icon below it. I just download and quickly go through the same parameter set up and get it work.

naya


Ok, that makes sense..... did you download the Drop-in Binary to the FAH folder or somewhere else?

naya - thanks for the assist here.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:22 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
yeah download to that folder. I am running it but still can't get it run CPU full load. I don't know why but I am trying to see if I could get it run 100%

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:56 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Does this still have to be done?

At the cmd prompt type: CD\FAH
At the cmd prompt type: install.bat
At the cmd prompt for user name type:
At the cmd prompt for password type:
At the cmd prompt verify password type:
After the verfications etc: hit enter

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:06 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I am in search mode :) I download, change the .exe file to FAH6 then right click FAH6 and select run "As Administrator" then it will let you go through the set up. Does not need to enter username and password. I don't know if that is correct or not. It is folding though. Very slow 800 PPD :lol: only get 26% CPU. I can't get the CPU go to 100%.

naya

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:32 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
My smp expired on me about a week ago, and I had to download that drop-in binary, and then it worked again. I didn't have to do anything I don't think, just downloaded it to the FAH folder, and it was done......I think.

I can't believe how difficult getting this stuff to work is. With all the geniuses that are designing these programs and managing all this data we are producing for them, you would think they could come up with something easier to use!!

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 7:02 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Maybe we are the genuises and some meathead just threw something together without any thought. :D I have installed many a program, including writing some back in the anctient times before the internet was around and never had this much trouble getting something to work, this is absolutly crazy.

I am still folding with my GPU client until I can get this other hunk of _____ to work. I am truley not going to worry about it tonight, I have played with this program all day and I am done for the night.

BTW, check your other thread about the I7 CPU, I listed some memory there for you.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 10:04 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
fastrhoads wrote:
Maybe we are the genuises and some meathead just threw something together without any thought. :D I have installed many a program, including writing some back in the anctient times before the internet was around and never had this much trouble getting something to work, this is absolutly crazy.

I am still folding with my GPU client until I can get this other hunk of _____ to work. I am truley not going to worry about it tonight, I have played with this program all day and I am done for the night.

BTW, check your other thread about the I7 CPU, I listed some memory there for you.


I'm usually not the one to "throw in the towel" but if I do not get this right soon, I'm not going to worry about folding... :x really pissed @ this point!

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 4:45 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
drBlahMan wrote:
fastrhoads wrote:
Maybe we are the genuises and some meathead just threw something together without any thought. :D I have installed many a program, including writing some back in the anctient times before the internet was around and never had this much trouble getting something to work, this is absolutly crazy.

I am still folding with my GPU client until I can get this other hunk of _____ to work. I am truley not going to worry about it tonight, I have played with this program all day and I am done for the night.

BTW, check your other thread about the I7 CPU, I listed some memory there for you.


I'm usually not the one to "throw in the towel" but if I do not get this right soon, I'm not going to worry about folding... :x really pissed @ this point!


It has something to do with DrBlahMan. I mean I never have any problem with SMP Client. Although I think SMP Client a bit slow compare to GPU Client that I have. But as soon as DrBlahMan decide to folding then the SMP Client expired :lol:

Well, I have 3 GPU Client and it could give me 25-30K PPD. I am not so much into SMP Client. But I need to find out why I can't get SMP Client run 100% on CPU. Anyone has any tip. Please tell me what I need to do on the client.cfg file :lol:

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:14 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
naya wrote:
It has something to do with DrBlahMan. I mean I never have any problem with SMP Client. Although I think SMP Client a bit slow compare to GPU Client that I have. But as soon as DrBlahMan decide to folding then the SMP Client expired


ALL i HAVE TO SAY IS...

Image

I have not thrown in the towel just yet...Almost :roll: :lol:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:28 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
naya wrote:
I am in search mode :) I download, change the .exe file to FAH6 then right click FAH6 and select run "As Administrator" then it will let you go through the set up. Does not need to enter username and password. I don't know if that is correct or not. It is folding though. Very slow 800 PPD :lol: only get 26% CPU. I can't get the CPU go to 100%.

naya

Hi naya,

Since you have a quad core and are only running at 26%, did you forget to use the -smp switch? You have to do that to use all four cores, remember?... :D

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 5:36 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
Is it the Additional client parameters []? enter the following: -smp -verbosity 9

Alright I will re-install the FAH smp client again. I did un-install it :lol: No wonder when I run this binary drop-in. I can't get it to 100% :lol:

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 24, 2009 6:14 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
Yes, I believe that is the place. If it doesn't work there, try in the shortcut if you have one.

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 12:50 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
fella's, I wish I could help more. It's just that you are all doing everything right! I don't see why it's not working.

fastrhoads,

How many gpu clients are you running?

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:19 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
JDookie wrote:
fella's, I wish I could help more. It's just that you are all doing everything right! I don't see why it's not working.

fastrhoads,

How many gpu clients are you running?


I am running one GPU client, not sure if it is the right one but it is running.
I noticed that you really jumped in your Floding points within a day. Great Job!
I just got home so I will devote some time to sorting this out.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 2:44 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Ok, so here is another stupid question: Since I have this GPU Client polking along, should this also be installed in the FAH folder?

I am going to delete everything and try this once again and see if success is on my side tonight. Of course I will have a better chance of winning the Lottery. :lol:

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 3:29 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
KevinK37 wrote:
naya wrote:
I am in search mode :) I download, change the .exe file to FAH6 then right click FAH6 and select run "As Administrator" then it will let you go through the set up. Does not need to enter username and password. I don't know if that is correct or not. It is folding though. Very slow 800 PPD :lol: only get 26% CPU. I can't get the CPU go to 100%.

naya

Hi naya,

Since you have a quad core and are only running at 26%, did you forget to use the -smp switch? You have to do that to use all four cores, remember?... :D


Can someone be a little more clear about the smp something something switch? No swithces have been talked about that I am aware of, now there is some other trick cmd prompt that has to be entered? Cmon', help a brother out. :mrgreen:

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Sat Jul 25, 2009 4:16 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
No switch or anything special. It's actually already in ben.peterson's guide. Thing is, you aren't even getting far enough into the install to configure that part of it. Once you get the configonly command to work, that's where you enter -verbosity 9 or something like that.

The gpu clients are totally separate from the smp client, so don't put them in the same folder, just let the gpu clients install where they want to. Actually, i don't even leave the installation folder in the FAH folder. I download the installer to my desktop, and then install the actual program in the newly made FAH folder with nothing else in it, and go from there.

As far as PPD, I'm at about 23k per day, and that's with all three clients running. I've got to tell you, I'm working this cooling system overtime!! Its crazy how much heat this thing is creating. :shock:

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 60 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
TigerDirect