Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home




 [ 60 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:08 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
Yes, it's true...I'm finally folding :mrgreen: but I have one issue that appears to bother me. While folding, it will run smoothly but every couple of minutes, it will slow down tremendously. Things go back to normal when I move the cursor over to the folding viewer screen and click it. Is this normal? Does this have anything to do with my gpu driver? Or is it because of my setup? Please help me out somebody. So far after 45min, I'm at 55/500.

I thought this will apply 100% load on the cpu. The highest I've seen was 75%. Is this normal?

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:36 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
I feel your pain and for once I cannot get this program to work right. :x I'm folding, but I have no clue if I'm using the right app or not and the FAH website is really no help.
I think JDookie is the Genius ;) of our family because he has a program that is doing multiples. Heck I could not get one of those to work for love, money, or spare parts.
I for some reason cannot get my hands around this, so I let it putter along and fold.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:43 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
fastrhoads wrote:
I for some reason cannot get my hands around this, so I let it putter along and fold.


Well, if it has to putter, then so be it. I just have to be patient and deal with it unitl it gets better. Well, I do not feel to weird since there are alot of people who are dealing with the putter-like speed :)

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:03 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Hey guys!

I don't know if I would call it putter like speeds, but its certainly like watching paint dry. There's really nothing exciting to watch or do, it just does.......all day and all night.

Through a TON of trial and error I've finally figured out how to set up one smp (cpu) client, and two gpu clients (one for each card).

First, DrBlah, what client do you have installed? Is it a smp or gpu? Second, what folding window are you referring to that you click on to make it run faster? I am thinking you are talking about the gpu client graphic possibly?? If so, there are known issues with it, and it slows down progress so don't use it.

You basically don't want to "see" anything going on, just keep it all minimized and go about your regular stuff. I turned off my screen saver and all other automatic features that would turn things on and off so the system stays running normal 24/7, and when I'm not in the room actually working on the computer, I just turn off my monitors.

Okay, if you have an smp client properly installed you should definitely see full 100% cpu usage across all four cores. If you don't something isn't right.

Let's start by you telling me what you have installed, and lets see if we can figure this out together.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 2:33 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
JDookie wrote:
Let's start by you telling me what you have installed, and lets see if we can figure this out together.


Okay...1st, I've installed the "System Tray Client Installer w/ Viewer" and added the "Microsoft Loopback Adapter." This all I've done. When I look at the cpu usage, max usage is 74%. Now if I have the viewer display up and the cpu usage decreases, I can take the cursor and give the display image on the viewer a nudge and cpu usage will increase rapidly but not exceed 74%.

Also when I go into "Windows Task Mananger," the network utilization is 0% but if I disable the firewall, it will increase to 3% (not sure if this info matters), however, I keep my firewall enable.

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:29 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
drBlahMan,

Welcome to the folding team :D

Here is what I have installed:

I have installed the 6.23 beta for MPICH (32-bit or 64-bit) that I haved followed the sticky (Ben Peterson create) for SMP client. The set up configuration got a bit "long" When I download the FAHSpy software, everthing seems easier. You could set up your configuration at FAHSpy window.

For GPU, I download Windows XP/2003/Vista GPU System tray client (installer msi) 6.23. Installed with some instruction for 2 GPU to run both at the sametime. I spend a lot of time to figure out how to do 3 GPU at the same time and did not know I need to have a monitor cable attach onto each GPU :lol:

For the viewer, yes It is normal to have the graphic slow down if you let the arrow (mouse) stand still. It looks nice for a few minutes to see those balls vibrate, but I don't think you should monitor those balls :lol:

Download FAHMon application, It help you to monitor all of your clients with report of each clients and total system PPD. I don't know what the everage of 9800 GTX 1GB performance. Maybe you could get 6K or 7K PPD (Point Per Day) Your Q9400 is the least performance 3000 - 4000 PPD.

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 5:48 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Now we have 2 Folding Program Genuis'.lol Good, glad you have this figured out, I am using the GPU client which must be the EU version.
Pictures would be good. :)

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:50 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
drBlahMan wrote:
Yes, it's true...I'm finally folding :mrgreen: but I have one issue that appears to bother me. While folding, it will run smoothly but every couple of minutes, it will slow down tremendously. Things go back to normal when I move the cursor over to the folding viewer screen and click it. Is this normal? Does this have anything to do with my gpu driver? Or is it because of my setup? Please help me out somebody. So far after 45min, I'm at 55/500.

I thought this will apply 100% load on the cpu. The highest I've seen was 75%. Is this normal?


welcome in the FAH DR.BlahMan

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Last edited by kickdown on Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:47 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:10 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
DrBlah,

You are only running the gpu client. That's why you don't see your cpu being used. You should have noticed that your gpu temps increased, no? If you right click on the little F@H icon in your systray, and click on "Configure", and finally click on "Advanced" make sure you have Core Priority set to "Slightly Higher".

Anyway, go to ben.peterson's thread and follow his instructions on how to install an smp (cpu) client. This will get your cpu going.

http://www.my630i.com/how-to-install-smp-client-6-23-mpich-t1859.html

Also, do you want to run two gpu clients or just stick with one? To run two, you would either have to have two monitors or one monitor with two inputs. Your gpu clients produce 3 times the points per day (PPD) than the cpu client does.......something naya taught me :mrgreen:

Last, ignore the "Viewer". Its cool looking, like naya said, but it slows progess down a LOT and doesn't really work that well anyway. Freezes up a lot and such.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Last edited by JDookie on Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 7:12 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
kickdown wrote:
drBlahMan wrote:
Yes, it's true...I'm finally folding :mrgreen: but I have one issue that appears to bother me. While folding, it will run smoothly but every couple of minutes, it will slow down tremendously. Things go back to normal when I move the cursor over to the folding viewer screen and click it. Is this normal? Does this have anything to do with my gpu driver? Or is it because of my setup? Please help me out somebody. So far after 45min, I'm at 55/500.

I thought this will apply 100% load on the cpu. The highest I've seen was 75%. Is this normal?


welcome in the FAH DR.BlahMan
you now are DR. on the medicine.



What happen to your system Kickdown. Too much for your system to folding? :lol:

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:53 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Quote:
Press enter and it will return you to c:\FAH directory.

7. Type the following and hit enter: fah6 -configonly. It will next prompt you to enter a username.. this is your Folding@home username.. and this IS CaSe SenSitiVE. Hit enter and you will need to enter your team number... enter 149882 and hit enter. Next it will ask you for your passkey.. enter that and hit enter (if you do not have one you can request one here:http://fah-web.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/getpasskey.py)


OK, need some help.... I am at #7 above and have: C:\FAH> fah6 -configonly.? is this correct minus the (?)?
I get the error: "fah6 -configonly is not recognized............

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 2:19 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Sorry I didn't reply sooner. Dropped the ball, sorry.

I got stumped at the exact same spot for hours, and I think you are running into the very same issue I had.

In Ben's tutorial he instructs to rename the F@H.exe file from the long "Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe" to something shorter like "FAH6.exe", but then in step 7 he says to type in the command you copied and pasted above which uses file name "fah6", but that file doesn't exist because you named it "FAH6.exe".

Go back and change the file name from "FAH6.exe" to just plain old "fah6" and try it again.

Also, as a side note, you did set windows to start up requiring a password, right? If not, you will need to do this first.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Thanks for the info, I will redo when I get home tonight. I tried re-typing this in the Directory and when it wasn't working I thought I was losing the last few brain cells I have.
This correction makes sense, hopefully all will work, I want to install the FAHspy or similar program and run that instead of the GPU client.
We will see.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:50 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
I'm running FahMon, and it works great. Again, nothing fancy to look at, but lets you know exactly what's going on.

That's a bit tricky to install too though, so let me know when you have it downloaded and installed, and I'll give you a hand setting it up.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 5:36 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
JDookie wrote:
Sorry I didn't reply sooner. Dropped the ball, sorry.

I got stumped at the exact same spot for hours, and I think you are running into the very same issue I had.

In Ben's tutorial he instructs to rename the F@H.exe file from the long "Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe" to something shorter like "FAH6.exe", but then in step 7 he says to type in the command you copied and pasted above which uses file name "fah6", but that file doesn't exist because you named it "FAH6.exe".

Go back and change the file name from "FAH6.exe" to just plain old "fah6" and try it again.

Also, as a side note, you did set windows to start up requiring a password, right? If not, you will need to do this first.


Ok, renamed the exe to FAH6 and the typed it in as FAH6 -configonly
and nothing happens.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:00 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Okay, so let's backtrack. So far, you have:

Downloaded 6.23 beta for MPICH
Created a F@H folder in the root of your C: drive (c:\fah)
Ran the installer changing the install destination to the c:\fah folder you created
Renamed the "Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe" folder to just "fah6"
Opened a cmd prompt while running as administrator
Typed cd\fah to change the prompt field
Finally typed install.bat and answered all the necessary account questions and hit Enter.
You should have seen "If you see this twice, MPI is working" twice.

Did you get this far? More importantly, did you see the last message twice?

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:04 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
JDookie wrote:
Okay, so let's backtrack. So far, you have:

Downloaded 6.23 beta for MPICH
Created a F@H folder in the root of your C: drive (c:\fah)
Ran the installer changing the install destination to the c:\fah folder you created
Renamed the "Folding@home-Win32-x86.exe" folder to just "fah6"
Opened a cmd prompt while running as administrator
Typed cd\fah to change the prompt field
Finally typed install.bat and answered all the necessary account questions and hit Enter.
You should have seen "If you see this twice, MPI is working" twice.

Did you get this far? More importantly, did you see the last message twice?


So far I have done everything, go the 2 messages about MPI is working, I have a password on the pc for the first time since owning; I am the Admin.
Trying one other thing.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:23 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
This is where I get stuck:

Image

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:45 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1088
Location: Nevada
I had the problem when windows tried to rename mine to fah6.exe.exe so I would make sure it didn't actually do that to you also. I think the easiest place to see it would be in a command prompt.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:58 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
fastrhoads,

I'm wondering why you have two execute files in there. I see you renamed one, but the other is still the original name. I would try to delete everything, and start over from scratch to make sure you're not getting conflicts or something.

Do you get the same result if you use "fah6.exe -configonly"?

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 11:47 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
Fellas, I apologize for being away for a while on this folding topic. The job became a critical situation at City Hall. Now since that has been taken care of, I will read what you guys have been talking about so I will make sense of what's going on here. You all will here from me later tonight :mrgreen:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 3:01 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
I know this cannot be as hard as I am making it. I am going to delete the app and guts when I get home and retry again.
I will try and post pics of step by step for my own benifit so if I am making a crucial error the you guys can see where it is.
Wow, I feel newby all over again.lol

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 4:24 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
fastrhoads wrote:
I know this cannot be as hard as I am making it. I am going to delete the app and guts when I get home and retry again.
I will try and post pics of step by step for my own benifit so if I am making a crucial error the you guys can see where it is.
Wow, I feel newby all over again.lol


You're not alone in that category. I've already deleted the app and about to start all over again with this. I almost forgot what it feels like to be a newbie until now :? :roll: :lol:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 5:34 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
Of gentlemen here are the pics of progress (somewhat) I promised:

Image

This is where I changed the the app the fah6

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Step-by-Step, Slowly It Folds...And I Mean Slowly
 Post Posted: Thu Jul 23, 2009 6:30 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
It looks like you did everything right. I honestly don't understand why it isn't working. Have you tried typing "fah6.exe -configonly" as a command?? I'm sure you have, but I didn't see it in the list of attempts.

I have work tomorrow, so I'm going down for the night. I will get back on tomorrow and follow up some more.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 60 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: