Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home




 [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 5:18 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
I also forgot to add.. make sure and monitor your temps.. with your cpu pegged at 100% it will raise your temps pretty high.. i believe that the new dual cores run pretty cool... but just in case it would be good to keep an eye on things. :)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:47 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:24 pm
Posts: 51
Location: DFW
Yes I did have 5 core processes...
Image

I rebooted and all seemed well after that.
After 7 hours it was at 20% of a 2500000 whatever project.
So it will take 36 hours approximately...

Now how do I do the GPU thingy?

Thanks!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:57 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
I haven't ever seen a rouge process like that before... interesting... lol. I'm glad you're all taken care of :D. Unless my math is wrong 20% in 7 hours should mean you're at 21mins/step average... so it looks like the newer technology trumps my little xeons :(.

The gpu client is VERY easy... go here and download the installer:
http://folding.stanford.edu/English/DownloadWinOther

Download the very last GPU installer listed... it reads the following:
"Windows Vista GPU Console client (note running as a service does not work in Vista). Uninstall any existing FAH services made with pre 6.20 clients before updating."

Then go to this page and follow their guide :). The only part that could cause trouble would be if you didn't put in a unique machine id for this installer... or if you didn't put in the right username/team number... to run this one you simply double click the icon on your desktop and it runs... to stop right click on logo by your computer's time... and click Quit.

http://folding.stanford.edu/English/WinGPUGuide

If you have any troubles let us know :). You'll notice that the gpu's fly through wu's... i'm not sure about the speed of ati cards, but my 1 gtx280 has never taken over 3mins/step = 5hrs to completion.

Good luck!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:23 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:24 pm
Posts: 51
Location: DFW
so if my machine ID for my SMP client is 1, does my GPU client need to be different?


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 11:24 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Yes, you should set it to 2 and then you'll be good to go :).


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 19, 2009 6:39 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Space:
Did you get everything rolling ok? I haven't seen any WU's reported for you yet, so i'm curious :).


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:24 pm
Posts: 51
Location: DFW
I'm 22 on the Team list!!

2144 points for my first WU. :D

I really don't think you want to hear about my GPU experience... :cry:

I will tell you anyway HA HA

I loaded it and my GPU temp skyrocketed to 80c and I paused it to play Fracry 2 and 2 minutes into the game I got the first bluescreen EVER on my 360i...

Since I had to reboot I didn't load the GPU version and played Farcry for over an hour so I think that was it...

I really was worried about cooking my video card too...

OH and the lockup made my FAH6 project that was over 50% restart from 0 so thats why it took so long for me to post my first points...

Thanks for checking up on me!!

space


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:09 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Space:
That's quite the first WU! What do you have your fans set at for your GPU? If i'm not mistaken you're running ATI cards? If so i'm not sure about what he heat specs are, but i know the Nvidia's are rated to be good at over 100c (i've not had mine over 78c). My single GTX280 stays right at 70c peak when i'm folding, but i have my gpu fan set to 100% all the time (can't hear it over my other fans). Maybe we could try setting the fans higher and see if you get the same results? I just hate to see you not be able to fold on your gpu as that is where the real points come in (my gpu is currently pushing 8k points per day). Either way congrads on your first WU and WELCOME to the team!

Ben


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 4:22 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 18, 2009 3:24 pm
Posts: 51
Location: DFW
Can I set the fan speeds on my ATI 3870s?

Wouldn't it be automatic?

Thanks


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 5:51 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
I thought you could in the Catalist Control Center.... however i have not even owned an ATI card, so i'm afraid i'm not too much help. I know that you should be able to with some kind of software, but i don't know of one that can. The come factory with automatic settings, but it runs them a little hot for my taste. The time that my gpu hit 78c was with factory fan speeds, and that was only playing Crysis, not folding on it (my gpu runs hotter folding then while playing crysis). Maybe you can google it to find a software?

Sorry i'm not much help with ATI cards.. you could just get rid of them and go Nvidia.. LOL.. then at least i could help a little... HAHAHA

Ben


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:12 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
Ben,

All the link on first page is still valid? I need to download 6.23 Beta for MPICH 32-bit or 64-bit?

Thanks,

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 6:02 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Naya,
Sorry for the late reply... The link is still valid, and the installer is for both 32 and 64bit o/s's... i've installed it on both with no issues whatsoever :), so it sounds like you're looking at the right one :D. Let me know if you have any issues with the install!


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 29, 2009 6:35 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I think I got everything work alright. Here is a lazy question. Can I run thi FAH6 automatically after window start up? I think I should google :)

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:04 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Naya: Congrads and welcome to the team! I see you're already chugging through the wu's! There is a way to run it through the startup programs (i think), but i can't remember how right off the top of my head... You should be able to google it like you said :).

Any chance you're going to get you're GTX-285 folding? That should put you in the #1 PPD rank if it performs like i think it should! Let me know if you need help setting it up :).


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:13 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 2717
Location: Bristol, UK
Steam ID: billybigfoot
If you make a shortcut to the FAH6 client and put it into your startup folder it should do the trick.

_________________
Image


i7: Intel i7 860 2.8GHz | Intel DP55WG | 8GB PC10666 | GTX275 (896Mb) | HD-1 TB | DVD/CD- LG BlueRay + DVD/CD Burner | OCZ SilentxStream 700w | RealTek ALC 889 | CASE-Lian Li 7FN Black | Win 7 U 64bit | G35/G19/G9 | Dell 22 inch SP2208WFP


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2009 5:23 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
Ben,

I am working toward to get my system less noise. Of course, that also mean how could I manage the heat. Right now, it is loud because I use Dell Stock Heat Sink for CPU. It really nice at idle 34-38C cross Quad Core but full load it was 68C on 1 and 4 and 57C on 2 and 3. I know it looks odd because I did not lapped both CPU and the Dell Stock Heat Sink yet. I will get liquid cooling so I could run 24/7 that why I don't bother to get a better heat sink. I used to have ZALMAN 9700 NT. But I give it up to go with my sister desktop :) I will try the GTX 285 SSC. I don't know how to set it up yet but I will read through some earlier post to see what I need to do.

Billybigfoot, Thanks for the hint. I will try to see if I could make it work that way.

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:01 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I have trouble with a Pentium D machine. So some reason the FAH6 stop working after I enter the passkey. The passkey I have from a few day ago. Do I have to go into the website to get a new passkey? I have to tried it first to see what happen :)

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:49 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
I don't know what happen but after a few try which the application stop at a few other places. Now it's up and running.

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 3:45 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Okay, I'm trying to install my first client, and have hit a speed bump that I can't figure out.

I've followed the instructions to the "T", and got all the way to the part where you enter "fah6 -configonly" in the cmd prompt, and it's giving me this error:

"fah6 is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file"

I've created the FAH folder in the root of my c: drive, renamed the one folder to FAH6.exe as instructed, etc.

It accepted my windows username and password just fine, and I saw the "If you see this twice, MPI is working" twice just like I was supposed to, and it completed that task successfully, but now I'm stuck at this next stage.

Any ideas??

EDIT: I just figured it out. Ben, your instructions have an error. The command isn't "fah6 -configonly" it's "fah6.exe -configonly" At least that's what I had to do to get it to work. I just entered my username, and am on to the next step. Not finished yet though so I will keep you posted.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:35 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Okay, all done and currently folding. I'm only running a dual core right now so it may take me a bit longer than the quad core guys, but its running at full tilt on both cores as we speak.

Temps definitely jumped up. I have my cage fan at 40%, cpu fan at 73% and am holding steady around 53-55 degrees C.

Looks like I'm accomplishing 1% every 18 minutes. Not too shabby I guess with just my two cores.

Next is the gpu client.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:24 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
So you have figured it out and get it up and running on 2 SMP client? That is good. Did you get the install.bat type in before the FAH6 -configonly to solve the problem? How many GPU that you have? GPU is more productive than CPU SMP client.

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 1:40 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
I only installed one client. Was I supposed to set up two??

As far as the gpu client, I never got that far. I'll try to set that up tomorrow after I do the mobo swap. I'm hoping to have you guys help me start oc'ing tomorrow too. I'm at work, otherwise I would be doing it right now.

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 27, 2009 5:08 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 4:01 pm
Posts: 850
Location: Portland, OR
You could run 2 SMP clients at the same time :) I mean you don't have too

_________________
XPS 630i Q9650 @ 4.28GHz|EVGA 780i SLI FTW|4GB G. SKILL DDR2 1100
Koolance EXOS 2.5 + 360 Radiator
GTX 285 TRI-SLI 756/1692/1377 3DMark Vantage: P33245
WD VelociRaptor 300GB 10K RPM SATA, 1.5TB WD SATA
Corsair HX1000W |Dell UltraSharp 2408WFP - 24"
Ulitmate Vista 64bits | ESA system tool 6.03
Image


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Sun Jun 28, 2009 4:54 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2008 9:24 pm
Posts: 374
Location: Colorado
Good news that you're up and running. I wouldn't suggest running 2 smp's, but if you search "Mr. Scary" posted a 'how-to' so you can do that if you wish. Your command prompt should try to run the executable with the name you enter... ie "fah6" when entered will run the executable fah6.exe... and the -configonly is simply a param to send to the folding app to tell it that you're wanting to configure it not just run it. I have never seen it not work unless you enter the .exe before, but there is always a first time for everything :).

I am now curious if it has to do with the new SP2 in vista that changed that? I'll have to do more research once i get moved into my new place.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to: Install SMP client 6.23 MPICH
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:23 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
Instead of running two smp's, I think I'm going to wait until my second video card gets here and lean more toward an additional gpu client since those clients finish wu's a lot quicker than the cpu.

Incidently, on the topic of installation, Ben. The only thing that I found wrong in your guide (which was a great help, by the way) was what you suggested to name the .exe file. In your guide, you said to name it fah6.exe, but then later you say to type "fah6" in the cmd prompt to engage the program. Well, that won't work. These two need to match, so if you could change your guide to instruct everyone to name the .exe file just "fah6" instead (leaving off the .exe), everything else will go nice and smooth. Thank you again for taking the time to make the guide though, couldn't have done it without it.

I also have a question, the part where you enter "-smp -verbosity 9", what is that?? I ask this because when setting up the gpu client, there was a box where you had the option of entering something like this again, or leave it blank. Not knowing, I went ahead and entered -verbosity 9. Did I do this right??

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 51 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Board index » General Discussions » Other » Folding@home


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: