Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Fan / Light / Master I/O / HDD Light / LightFX 2.0 Problems




 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:03 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
siffert wrote:
fastrhoads wrote:
Nvidia Performance is showing you a false oc. Unless CPU-Z's software has changed drastically, the oc you have done will not be recognized. Meaning this: you ... I did the same thing, back when I first got my 630 I was under the illusion that Nvidia's Performance Tool was giving me an oc. I could increase the FSB to 365 and @ 366 the system would lock.


??? CPU-Z clearly shows 3001.4 Mhz and 351.0 Mhz Bus Speed via version 1.55 so I dont see how Nvidia Performance is speaking with forked tongue. Ditto with my 3DMark06, Core Temp and Everest Ultimate Edition showing "CPU Clock--3000.6 MHz (original: 2833 MHz, overclock: 6%)".


In other news, I bought that EVGA 780i FTW and should be here late next week. Is there any "step by step" on this forum about putting it in? Also, been reading about mobo swaps here and I keep reading about having to reinstall the OS. Why is that? Similar board, same/similar drivers, same Xp Pro on hard drive, so whats' the problem?



That's great, I'm glad to see that CPU-Z has updated their software to recognize Nvidia Performance. Back early '09, CPU-Z didn't recognize the oc.
I'm not trying to argue or give you bad advice, just trying to help prevent issues based on past experiences and knowledge. This is some of what we do here is prevention, and some (myself included) have found out the hard way. If you want to continue to use the Nvidia software then thats ok and hope it works out for you.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 11, 2010 5:04 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2009 9:52 am
Posts: 1749
Location: Austin, Texas
Steam ID: fasterrhoads
fastrhoads wrote:
siffert wrote:
fastrhoads wrote:
Nvidia Performance is showing you a false oc. Unless CPU-Z's software has changed drastically, the oc you have done will not be recognized. Meaning this: you ... I did the same thing, back when I first got my 630 I was under the illusion that Nvidia's Performance Tool was giving me an oc. I could increase the FSB to 365 and @ 366 the system would lock.


??? CPU-Z clearly shows 3001.4 Mhz and 351.0 Mhz Bus Speed via version 1.55 so I dont see how Nvidia Performance is speaking with forked tongue. Ditto with my 3DMark06, Core Temp and Everest Ultimate Edition showing "CPU Clock--3000.6 MHz (original: 2833 MHz, overclock: 6%)".


In other news, I bought that EVGA 780i FTW and should be here late next week. Is there any "step by step" on this forum about putting it in? Also, been reading about mobo swaps here and I keep reading about having to reinstall the OS. Why is that? Similar board, same/similar drivers, same Xp Pro on hard drive, so whats' the problem?



That's great, I'm glad to see that CPU-Z has updated their software to recognize (validate) Nvidia Performance. Back early '09, CPU-Z didn't recognize the oc.
I'm not trying to argue or give you bad advice, just trying to help prevent issues based on past experiences and knowledge. This is some of what we do here is prevention, and some (myself included) have found out the hard way. If you want to continue to use the Nvidia software then thats ok and hope it works out for you.

_________________
Current:
New Case Coming: Intel Core i7 980-X @4.5GHz*EVGA X58 E770 Classified 3 Way*Corsair H100 4 Scythe Fans Push/Pull*Mushkin Redline 6GBs 1600Mhz*EVGA GTX 570SC*WD Velociraptor 600GB*Lamptron Fan Controller Touch*Enermax Galaxy EVO 1250W Sleeved*Windows 7 64Bit Ultimate*

New O.C. 5.13.11
Image


Previous CPU:
Image

BIOS Templates

Supported PhysX Games
Click Here


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:03 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
This is the beginning of the Nvidia Performance problems here.....

Your BIOS is actually set for some reason to have 1.45Vcore on the CPU, which is a LOT, and beyond Intel Spec. Its recommended never to go beyond 1.3625 (or something like that) on the Core 2 Quad CPUs. :shock:

After that is done, go into the BIOS, and set the CPU Vcore to 1.2750V, and the CPU FSB to 1.3Vcore. The rest of those voltages look ok....for now. Once that is done, press F10 (I think) to save and exit the BIOS. The system should reboot. Then once you are in Windows, first check your CPU temps...they should be a bit lower. Also, try running Prime95 and/or OCCT again. See how it performs and check for stability. :goodluck:

And I would hold off on installing the Performance app until you at least get the new motherboard. Also, with the new motherboard, you can actually get your CPU Vcore even lower at stock speeds, to maybe around 1.20V. And if all you want to OC is to 3.00GHz, then you wont even need to really change any voltages at all. But we will do that once you get the motherboard. :D



Hi....You were right....I did some diagnostic tests on the CPU and Mobo and both checked out A-OK. I changed the voltages as you told me to do..and succesfully. I ran the tests Intel Burn-In and OCCT (also running Speed Fan to check the temps as the tests ran) and still flunked. However, I saw my CPU core temps (normally just under 40c without load) were (all cores) around 66c to 69c during those tests....which I think that is why I am flunking?

I am using the stock Dell heatsink/fan that came with the 630i (I used Artic Silver 5 after replacing the Q9300). I have those high core temps and flunks even with the CPU fan at 100% and chassis fans at 80% (and have a rear exhaust fantoo).

So...could you guys recommend a better heatsink/fan that would fit/work with the 650i mobo to see if that fixes my flunks...and also a heatsink/fan that would fit/work with my upcoming EVGA 780i FWT? Thanks.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 1:37 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I dont think the heat is causing your failures. I think it has something to do with the motherboard. The heat wont really affect the stability too much until you start approaching the TJ Max, which is 100C, in which the computer will shut down immediately to prevent damage to the CPU.

66-69C is a bit high IMO for stock temps, but with the stock cooler, I think its normal. Since you used AS5, which has a curing period, the temps wont drop for about 200 hours of operating time, with cooling periods (shutdowns). With AS5, you should apply a real thin layer, and I mean like paper thin, to get the best results. If you have too much AS5 on the CPU, it will actually raise your temps.

I would wait until your motherboard arrives to see what happens with the Q9550 on that board first. The stock heatsink will stilll work, but I think you may just have to unscrew the black backplate from the case, since it might not line right up with the 780i. I might be wrong though...

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 4:25 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
Since you used AS5, which has a curing period, the temps wont drop for about 200 hours of operating time, with cooling periods (shutdowns). With AS5, you should apply a real thin layer, and I mean like paper thin, to get the best results. If you have too much AS5 on the CPU, it will actually raise your temps.

I would wait until your motherboard arrives to see what happens with the Q9550 on that board first. The stock heatsink will stilll work, but I think you may just have to unscrew the black backplate from the case, since it might not line right up with the 780i. I might be wrong though...


OK...thanks for the info. I applied the AS5 just like their web site said for the quad core, just a thin horizontal line about 1mm wide. I still got about 100 hours cure time to go I guess. My mobo is coming in on Friday.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 5:08 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Honestly, I personally think AS5 is going to be phased out soon, because all these newer thermal compounds dont have curing time, and actually have lower temps than AS5 most times. Plus, you never have to worry about shorting out any components in your system due to the silver in the AS5, which is highly conductive.

I myself use either Prolimatech PK-1 or OCZ Freeze. Those 2 compounds have been the best I have ever used, with ease of spreading the compound as well as removing it, and the no cure time.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Last edited by m3th0d1c4l on Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:02 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
I personally use either Prolimatech PK-1 or OCZ Freeze. Those 2 compounds have been the best I have ever used, with ease of spreading the compound as well as removing it, and the no cure time.


OK...you sold me. I cant find anybody selling OCZ Freeze anymore, so I'll get PK-1. You appply it with a drop in the middle or horizontal line?


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Oct 13, 2010 9:14 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I actually use the "X" method myself. Here is a video so you can get an idea of it:



The very last application is the "X" or "Cross" method. From my experience, that is the best way to apply thermal compound. It is much easier to do than with the PK-1, as it has a lower viscosity than the OCZ Freeze and even the AS5. But with PK-1, it should be real easy.

And I also just noticed that OCZ is sold out everywhere......this sucks. LOL. :( I only got one tube left. :rofl: Guess I better use it sparingly.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 9:23 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
And I also just noticed that OCZ is sold out everywhere......this sucks. LOL. :( I only got one tube left. :rofl: Guess I better use it sparingly.


Your OCZ is now worth more than gold! Been looking high and low across the planet earth for it like the quest for the holy grail... all to almost no avail. I found one place, "schoolproducts.com"!! that claims it sells it so I took a chance (on a special credit card that I use for potential nefarious transactions) on ordering it. I let ya know how it plays out. Also on another holy grail trail for a OCZ Vendetta 2 heatsink. Only so far found OCZ Vendetta orginal. PS..thanks for the X apply video tip.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 8:53 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
Well, I wound up selling my Q9550 since all here were right about overclocking it with the stock mobo and got myself a E8600. Great chip and it was simple overclocking via bios to 3.6MHz. Next going to try to move up to 3.8mhz. I have not bothered installing my 780i board since I am happy so far with the stock setup. Thanks for everyone's help here.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Last edited by siffert on Thu Aug 11, 2011 7:04 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 10:24 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
You do realize you just severely downgraded yourself from a Quad Core to a Dual Core, right?

That Q9550 is a far better chip that the E8600. You kinda went backwards man. Once you installed that 780i you would see the Q9550s true performance...

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:34 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
You do realize you just severely downgraded yourself from a Quad Core to a Dual Core, right?

That Q9550 is a far better chip that the E8600. You kinda went backwards man. Once you installed that 780i you would see the Q9550s true performance...


Well, I don't multitask and few games use 4 cores. The benchmarks I use gives me better scores at 3.8mhz duo than at 3.0 MHz (oc) quad on the _stock_ 630i mobo. Still, if and when I ever decide to install my 780i and long for a quad, I can always buy a Q9650.

Sold the used Q9550 for $195 on fleabay and paid $289 for the new boxed E8600 from NewEgg. IMO, for my $95 cpu UPgrade cost, I made a great leap forwards :)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 4:57 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
You do realize you just severely downgraded yourself from a Quad Core to a Dual Core, right?

That Q9550 is a far better chip that the E8600. You kinda went backwards man. Once you installed that 780i you would see the Q9550s true performance...


You were right! Hey, am man enough to say that!

I installed the 780i FTW with no problems though I changed the NB fan. Although I will say the 780i runs hotter in all departments than the Dell 630i stock mobo. I bought a new Q9650 on fleabay on the semi cheap and installed that. Started at 3600 mhz with no problems at cpu 1.275 and FSB 1.175 stable. Then bumped up to 3800 mhz and had to bump cpu to 1.325 and FSB 1.25 to be stable. I wanted to go to 4000 but dont really want to go higher in voltage to get there which the mobo requires. Still, that it is a much better overclocker than the E8600.

Anyways, my 3Dmark06 with Dell mobo, E8600@3800 mhz, and MSI GTX 285 SLI was 18,867, AquaMark3@211,323. With the 780i, Q9650@3800mhz, and MSI GTX 285 SLI it was 22,093, AquaMark3@229,030.

So I guess its time to sell off my E8600 and shall consult you before anymore cpu purchases :)

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Last edited by siffert on Sun Oct 23, 2011 3:40 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Thu Sep 29, 2011 5:26 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Well I am glad you are happy with your system now. :D I just wanted to try and save you some hard earned money down the road. The Q9650 is designed by putting 2 of the dual core E8400 chips together (2x 6MB cache, 3.00GHz CPU speed). If you look at the architecture, that is how they are made. Hence the name "Core 2 Quad."

It's normal for the 780i to run a bit hotter, because it has an NF200 chip for Tri SLi @ x16. The other thing that helped contribute to your performance is the x16 lane on the 780i. It did not do much though (only about 3-5% over the 8x on the 650i).

Now all you need is Windows 7 64 bit. :mrgreen: But one step at a time. :)

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 4:55 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
It's normal for the 780i to run a bit hotter, because it has an NF200 chip for Tri SLi @ x16.


I installed a 92mm 4 pin Cooler Master PWM fan as an exhaust fan and using the 4 pin 630i rear connector. It does not register in the 780i bios or in Nvidia Control Panel either. Its running at 100% (which is OK by me) but I do not understand why.

If get an fan extension cable and hook it up to one of the 780i mobo 3 pin fan connectors.....will it a)register in bios or Nvidia panel? and b) will I be able to control it's speed in either bios or Nvidia Control panel? Am using Nvidia panel currently to control light colors and an easy way to control front case fans (now using Delta 113 cfm fans) and cpu fan speeds.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 2:53 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
You should be able to control it from the Nvidia Control Panel if you connected it to the chassis light bar in the back.

But if you connect it to the motherboard with an extension, yes you should be able to control it through the BIOS or Nvidia Control Panel. But before you do that...try uninstalling the Nvidia Control Panel, deleting any saved profiles when asked, and then reinstall it.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:22 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
I tried reinstalling the Nvidia panel (which always shows the cpu fan, chassis fans, gpu fan and NB fan) and profiles, no go. Bios and Nvidia dont show it at all. I think I recall reading here a few months ago that using an exhaust fan connected to the light bar will always run at 100% unless you use a fan controller.

Got the fan connector extension coming in late this week, will try that. Hopefully connecting to mobo will work. Thanks.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:41 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
I believe you might be right on that. I think I might have been the one that posted it. :rofl:

Honestly though, if the fan isn't loud, just let it be. You should run it at 100% anyways since you have 2 fans pushing air in, and only one exhausting it, which will create a positive pressure in the case. So you want to try and balance that as much as possible.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Tue Oct 04, 2011 7:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
Yea, I agree on the "let it be". Though I like to experiment on my 630i so I'll still see what the mobo fan connector does for it.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 07, 2011 4:32 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
I got the fan extension and loaded it to the mobo and would you believe, the bios and Nvidia Panel still does NOT show it. Oh well, "let it be", though I ordered two 120mm to 92mm fan adapters and going to experiment switching to 120mm for the cpu fan and exhaust fan.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: What are the "normal" 630i temps supposed to be?
 Post Posted: Mon Jan 02, 2012 9:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:05 am
Posts: 99
Location: Makena, Maui & Dona Ana, NM
[quote="m3th0d1c4l"]The 790i is practically identical to the 780i, but the memory on the 790i needs to be DDR3. So your stock RAM will not swap over to it, as it is DDR2.

I am thinking of picking up a used 790i FTW to play with. The two right angle SATA A0 and A1 ports (bunched together just like the 780i FTW) are busted and dont work (rest of the mobo works perfect). If I put two hard drives and two DVD drives on the 4 SATA port section, will the C: hard drive (drive 0-Sata B0 port) still boot up normally? Thanks.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i, EVGA 780i FTW, Intel Q9650 Quad Core OC @ 3.80GHz
4GB Kingston HyperX 800MHz DDR2
2x MSI GTX 580 1.5GB LIGHTNING EDITION SLI
2x WD Caviar Blue 500GB 7200 RPM HDD's, Dell Floppy Drive
Plextor 716SA & 755SA DL DVD/CD Drives
OCZ Vendetta CPU Heatsink/Fan, Rexus PWM 60MM NB Fan
Cooler Master 92MM Exhaust Fan, Delta AFC1212D-PWM 120mm Case Fans
Creative SB X-FI Extreme Gamer PCI Audio Card
Antec High Current Pro 1200 PSU, EVGA Power Booster
Windows XP Pro SP3-Drive 0, Windows 7 Pro SP1-Drive 1


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 46 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Fan / Light / Master I/O / HDD Light / LightFX 2.0 Problems


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: