Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » New Members - Introduce Yourself!




 [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 8:56 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
hi, new to the forum....well being a part of anyway...and reading too i guess. i just got my xps630i at the end of last month-march '12, then had surgery april 5, so it was fun then sucked haha. anyway i got the cpu second hand and it was a wreck...<100GB of 1TB free space, I erased everything and put on a fresh copy of Win7 Ultimate 64bit, added EVGA cards and OCZ SLi RAM (5-5-5@2.1v)--formerly 4GB kingston CL6 junk---in hopes of helping the seemingly slow Q8300 equipped system, I have a compairable HP Q6600 that seeems faster, 4GB RAM 1GB ati video, but it seemed faster, and my dell XPS 420 with the 9400 2.66Ghz with OEM-Dell 8GB ram is def faster :( but i'm gonna fix that one haha. I've hade pentium mmx 200mhz computer upto an i5 laptop, o and i did have a cpl really old 33MHz...YES 33MHz intel desktops...forget what they called them d-something i think 3--?? idk but win 3.1 was my first windows OS...now win7 Ultimate...crazy how fast things change. I always liked the 630i and i'm pretty excited to make a powerhouse--I HOPE--out of it. and you guys seem pretty smart and not really dicks haha and i'm sure I can get just help in general here on cpu performace stuff..and just socialize, none of my friends are into computers like i am so it kinda sux...well problem solved...see you in the forums
THANKS FOR ALL THE INFO...I'VE ALREADY USED SOME------lights haha

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 9:09 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
Welcome to the forum. This is a great place for discussing just about everything.

The first computer I bought was a pentium 166mmx. What a powerhouse :)

The first one I built was from a junk pile left over from an Electrical Engineering Tech course at the college I attended. I built an awesome system based on the 8088 chip. 5 -10 MHz. This was a second gen intel based consumer PC. (8086/8088 - 80186 - 80-286 or 286 - 386 - 486 - Pentium. ) It had one of those cool IBM fliptop cases.

Image
I wish I had kept it.

It had a huge 20 mb hard drive about the size of a ITX computer which weighed a ton. I remember installing a serial I/O card in order to connect a 9 pin serial mouse. I went down to a local computer store to purchase the mouse one very hot day. I remember seeing the door to the store propped open by the almost identical hard drive.

Anyway, enough wandering down memory lane. Again, welcome to the forum.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:39 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
thats what I did...just took a stroll there for a min...but it's been a while sice i've done this....so this new stuff...eh it's new....

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 1:00 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
Well the best suggestion I can give you if you are still using the stock 630i motherboard is to check out the resource collective.

http://www.my630i.com/resources/driversandfirmware.html

Make sure you are using the latest firmware for the motherboard and the Master I/O controller board. You never know if it's second hand if the original owner kept it up-to-date.

I would make sure you have the latest chipset drivers (nForce Software) from here:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nforce-vista-win7-64bit-15.57-driver.html

Also, I would highly recommend installing the nVidia System Tools with ESA support to fully utilized the hardware and case features. The latest version can be found here:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/nvidia-system-tools-6.08-driver.html

Also updated graphics drivers as well:
http://www.geforce.com/Drivers

You may already know this stuff, if so pay it no mind. :D

Also a note: The Q8300 uses a 7.5 multiplier. 2.5 ghz. if you have a lower speed reported by Windows make sure the multiplier half step (N/2) is enabled in the BIOS. Mine was not enabled from the factory so it was reporting a slower speed.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 6:43 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
yeas I started to get the updates going now that I got Win7 alll set-up and the comptuer working as it was supposed to...and became satisfied with my windows setup, bios was .12 I flashed .13 in last night and am going throgh the forum today...actually for exactly what you just gave me so I feel a tank you is in order :bow:

yes I do show 2.5GHz...speed step is disabled it seems
I'm having a problem with my SLi capabilites as far as RAM goes though..maybe these updates will fix the problem--when I change my timings to 5-5-5-auto@2.1V I loose my internet connectivity-tray shows connection but IE will give that can't be found diagnose connection page like I have no connection...weird...I wonder if my psu isn't strong enough to power the usb or lan properly? I know it's a stretch..most likely the I/O firmware...but seriously this new setup for the multi-core stuff is a bit odd to me as far as how they like to run and their many setting options in and out of the bios...makes me feel like i'm back in school all over again

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
It sounds bizzare for sure. If you haven't tired one yet, run your hardware specs through a PSU calculator and see what it recommends for a power supply.
http://www.thermaltake.outervision.com/Power

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:26 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
OCZ Sli edition 2x2GB set-one set installed
cas 5-5-5@2.1V
I tried to set 5-5-5-auto and set memory volt to 2.1V in bios in expert mode=fail, now it's in "optimal" mode and speecy as well as bios shows it 6-6-6-18@1.8-1.85V

thermaltake reccommends 722W at 80%load includes exrta fans and leds so my 750W should be good for my current config. unless it's failing, i'll test it this week, updated everything and i'm going to restart and try the ram timings again in bios, probably going to treat like an OC as far as the Nvidia control is concerned

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:17 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
Quote:
OCZ PC2-6400 4GB SLI-Ready memory modules are programmed to boot at 800MHz DDR2 with tight timings of 5-4-4. Only motherboards equipped with the custom-designed BIOS, such as those designed for NVIDIA nForce SLI MCPs, can detect the optimized SPD profiles and ensure the memory functions under the best possible conditions.

Source: http://www.ocztechnology.com/ocz-ddr2-pc2-6400-sli-ready-edition-4gb-dual-channel.html

I would like to say the XPS 630i stock motherboard is a shining example of what an nVidia nForce 650 chipset is capable of. Alas Dell messed with the reference design and I wouldn't bank on it being reliable to handle the timings on that memory. I admit that I do not have any experience with that OCZ SLI RAM, but a firend of mine had booting issues in his nForce 750 board until he replaced it with regular g.Skill DDR2 memory.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 17, 2012 10:00 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
yeah i'm thinking I need to reasearch a bit. mine is labeled for 5-4-4 but my comptuer does boot just fine and gets better memory bandwith scores in sandra with the SLi memory enabled, but it's not that much account for the strange internet issue. When left in 'optimal' mode-memory timings-the computer loads at 5-4-4-16@1.85V in SLi mode so it does work. But honsetly the biggest difference was just using the 4GB ocz ram instead of the 4GB kingston stuff with the SLi memory option disabled in the bios. The other 4GB ocz set should give me another small benchmark bump as well...but with this board it's maxed out now...unless i OC the Ram somehow, but prob need a diff board--there was an article i read a while back about this ram(why i chose it) where they tuned it up and it was just shy of the ocz reaper ram specs in the DDR3 trim on an nvidia chipset board. so who knows, just gonna let it ride and focus more on cooling/case mods/peripherals rather than the LGA775 setup...it's just old...then get a third generation i setup once I can't go any farther or I come into some extra money.

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 19, 2012 7:13 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
well....dell shit the bed on their 650i remake...def the problem is the tight timings are creating a "lane" issue, where everything works but the actual decoding process in the netwok protocol are 'detoured' and windows looses the packets somehow resulting in my issue...really really weird if you ask me...O I was on the phone and email with several ppl at dell and nvidia and this is the best I can gather from all the crap they were trying to throw around...basically the RAM works great even at the higher 6-6-6 timings dell's board just can't handle the tighter timings...but it was a waste anyway because I just got a p8z68-v le board....I also have a gigabit Z68 to sell

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 12:04 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
Are you upgrading then? With that board you will have to perform two small case modification.

1. Front I/O connector.

2. Remove one press fit case stand-off.


I can provide you with more info if you require it.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 7:40 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
I see you have the same board...it's in the air between the asus and a giabyte board...both are Z68 chipsets...the asus upsets me as I got the wrong one for SLi, but O well i'll decide eventually
CPU-either i5 2500k or i7 2700k or maybe higher model
Ram-either Gskill, Ballistix or Corsair dominator

O on another note I had the case stripped down today to clean out fans/cages plan for fan mods, hdd cage removal, and looked at my RAM again it's 5-5-5 which the bios did recognize correctly when enabled SLi in bios menu, but the voltage was still low at 1.85V

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Fri Apr 20, 2012 11:22 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
if you use the Gigabyte board you won't have to modify the front I/O connector.

You will still need to remove a stand-off or cover it with electrical tape if it doesn't interfere with anything on the underside of the board.

Image

It's the one under the green circle. It's a press fit so if you remove it you will have to pull it out with pliers. It's not a big issue as most newer boards don't seem to use it.

As far as CPUs go, both you mentioned are good choices for the Z68 board. If you are only planning to game on this system you may not even notice the difference between the i5 and the i7. If you do anything requiring more processing power like 3D rendering, I'd go with the i7. As far as video transcoding, both work fine. Using the iGPU you can transcode a movie three times faster than using nVidia Cuda.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 8:04 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
unless i stumble into an i7 for the same price as a decent deal on an i5 2500k, then it's gonna be an i5...theyy seem at a glance to spec out so similarly that there isn't much to justify the i7, and everyone is running i5's with 4GHz overclocks so mustn't be too bad a choice :D I just got the Asus board today..brand new-wasnt sure if my contact was full of it or not, guss not 8-) ...I just got my vegas trio too-3 color fan, now I wanna get rid of it for a 2 color 140mm fan for the hdd cage, i'm not sure yet but I really feel it will fit in th original cage if two sides are cut off and one hole gets drilled so I only have to sacrifice one rubber bushing..I lose a color, but I think the larger fan will look much better and I really would like to not be stuck with one case light color like every other case seems to be..plus I like 'propeller' mode it's pretty legit..i'm going to start a thread this week with my case mods...fan swaps and align..I think i'm going to door mod and add a sentry controller...I should be spending this money on one of my cars but O well i'm having fun getting back to my other hobby finally :lol:

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 1:04 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2008 7:26 pm
Posts: 70
Location: NS Canada
Steam ID: Nazarite
Definitely start a thread for you mod / upgrade in the 'Upgrade\Mod\OC Section'. Take lots of pics and give lots of instruction. The guys here love to copy a good idea. Some like to spring board off of ideas inspired by new creativity. I look forward to reading it. Once finished we will have to get DrBlahMan to put it in the Case Mod Archive.

_________________
Nazarite
Intel i5 2500 | Asus P8Z68-V LE | 16 GB G.Skill Ripjaw 1600 DDR3 - EVGA Geforce GTX 560ti FPB | Cooler Master Hyper 212 Plus | 240GB & 60GB SSD + 2x 2 TB HDD | Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer | Corsair TX750M | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Asus VE278Q 27” LED | Windows 7 Pro x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: hello, i'm new here...read for more info
 Post Posted: Sun Apr 22, 2012 5:08 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2012 6:24 am
Posts: 38
yes I aspire to be on that thread :rofl: or at least I do hope I can pull off something deserving of the thread...glid wing 12 came yesterday and I waked right past it...i'm rearlly want to send the case off to the fab shop for a side panel job...as well as tint the case metal, no sticker, no paint in the traditional sense, no 'sticker' such as vinyl....should look good and my top case is all crapped up from the prior owner anyway so I got nothing to lose

_________________
XPS 630i
stock MB-Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B​3
750W psu
Q8300 Yorkfield-2.5Ghz-undecided
8GB OCZ SLi RAM-matched sets 2x4GB-5-4-4-15-24-(2T)-undecided-again...def cas 8
Dual EVGA Geforce 9800 GT- 1GB superclocked model-SLi enabledTwin GTX or Radeon--2GB cards this time
500GB WD HDD-x2 in RAID stripe--sees {1} 1TB HDD
DVD +/- RW drive
Integrated HD audio
Wi-Fi
26" led vizio tv


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 16 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » New Members - Introduce Yourself!


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: