Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion




 [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 1:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:27 pm
Posts: 28
I have an nvidia 8500GT gfx card installed and my computer only registers 1.5gb ram now. I have the latest drivers from nvidias site...

I previously had an 8800GT installed and it registered it all just fine. I have 3gb ram installed. Why would the new gfx card cut it in half??


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 2:11 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
Are you using a 32-bit version of Windows?

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Wed Jun 01, 2011 9:47 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:27 pm
Posts: 28
Yes, at this point im running Windows XP Professional, SP3.
This version of XP IS 32bit.

I had Win 7 64 bit on here previously and reverted because i blamed the higher demands of the OS for killing the gfx card. Now that ive calmed down im sure thats not anywhere near accurate lol...


Ive tried moving around the ram cards (there are 2 1gb cards and 2 512mb cards) and rebooting but to no avail. The computer before this one that had this card in it did the same thing though. Somehow the graphics card is keeping the system from recognizing all of the available ram and showing only 1.5gb. :/


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 7:00 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
32-bit versions of Windows can only address 3.0/3.5GB of RAM, and the memory on your graphics card uses even more of that address space. The only way to get around this is to install and use a 64-bit version of Windows. That sets the limit up to the following (all 64-bit versions shown):

Starter: 8GB
Home Basic: 8GB
Home Premium: 16GB
Professional: 192GB
Enterprise: 192GB
Ultimate: 192GB

from: http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/max- ... ows-7/4254

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 2:58 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:27 pm
Posts: 28
gdonner wrote:
32-bit versions of Windows can only address 3.0/3.5GB of RAM, and the memory on your graphics card uses even more of that address space. The only way to get around this is to install and use a 64-bit version of Windows. That sets the limit up to the following (all 64-bit versions shown):

Starter: 8GB
Home Basic: 8GB
Home Premium: 16GB
Professional: 192GB
Enterprise: 192GB
Ultimate: 192GB

from: http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/max- ... ows-7/4254



I understand what youre saying and I know that 32 bit versions of windows can only recognize 3/3.5 gb ram...but i have 3gb installed and it wont even recognize that much. It will only recognize 1.5 gb ram out of 3gb ram installed. and Ive had a 32 bit version of windows before and it would still recognize all 3 gb ram. The graphics card is whats causing it to not recognize it


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:13 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
gdonner wrote:
32-bit versions of Windows can only address 3.0/3.5GB of RAM, and the memory on your graphics card uses even more of that address space. The only way to get around this is to install and use a 64-bit version of Windows. That sets the limit up to the following (all 64-bit versions shown):

Starter: 8GB
Home Basic: 8GB
Home Premium: 16GB
Professional: 192GB
Enterprise: 192GB
Ultimate: 192GB

from: http://www.zdnet.com/blog/hardware/max- ... ows-7/4254

Whoa, I didn't know they limited the RAM by the edition of your Windows OS.

Sneaky snakes.

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 5:44 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:27 pm
Posts: 28
Just an update, I am now running Windows 7 Ultimate x64 bit OS again. Ram is still only registering as 1.5gb. I am positive my ram is not damaged and that it is still seated well. Something with my graphics card is stopping the pc from recognizing it. Also odd...my computer performance in control panel says virtual memory is 3gb, physical memory is 1.5gb...whats the difference in the two?


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2011 6:03 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1088
Location: Nevada
I'm not sure where you are in the control panel, but if you click the system icon, it will tell you what the installed ram is. Also, you said you moved your ram sticks around. I'm not sure how you have them installed, but make sure they aren't mixed up. Try the 1GB sticks in the black slots and the 512mb sticks in the white slots. Or vice versa if that doesn't fix your problem.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Graphics card causing system to not recognize ram.
 Post Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2011 6:57 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 7:27 pm
Posts: 28
The computer only started recognizing 1.5 gb ram after installing the different gfx card. Thats when i moved the ram cards around to no avail. I now have them back where they were from factory and still nothing. This same card has been in my moms pc, which is a gateway, and it does the same thing. I know the gfx card is somehow stopping the pc from recognizing ram, i just dont know HOW. And I can go to [right-click] Computer > Properties to see my ram showing 1.5gb or even in task manager it shows physical memory total of 1533 mb...

Like i said i know the gfx card is causing the ram to not register, i just dont understand how thats possible.

JUST AN UPDATE HERE:

I have tried a brand new Nvidia GT 520 Graphics card with 1024 mb ram and DDR3 to no avail. Still only 1.5gb ram showing. I have a new post with the current updates on the situation for anyone interested. Thanks.


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 9 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: