Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion




 [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:03 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:17 pm
Posts: 9
Steam ID: N/A
xfire ID: N/A
Hi Everyone,

Anyone seen this before:

Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40)
CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded

No floppy drive exists on the PC.
Got this error after the graphics card and motherboard were replaced.
Each time I hit F2 to enter BIOS Setup.
I then go into Integrated Peripherals and change Drive A to "None".
Then I change First Boot Device to "Hard Drive".
I disable all others as for now I only want to boot from the hard drive.
I then hit F10 to save and exit.
It may / may not save these settings for 1 or 2 reboots and then the above error comes up again.
Motherboard is keeping the correct time etc - so I assume the battery is OK???
A Dell Tech rang me to confirm if a previous problem I had before was now fixed.
I put this question to her and she brushed it off saying just hit F1 and ignore it! :roll:
Eerrrmmmm, NO, I paid €1,537 for this machine and I want it fixed!
The same day I could not wait on the phone anyway to resolve it...

Has anyone seen this before / know the root cause / know the problem fix? :)

Thanks in advance,
Conor

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Core Processor Q9550 2.83GHz 1333MHz FSB 12MB Cache
4GB Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz 4x1024MB Memory
640 GB Serial ATA Non Raid 7200 RPM Hard Drive
512MB ATI Radeon 4850 Graphics Card
Genuine Windows XP Professional SP3
Air Cooled Heatsink
DVD+/-RW 16X


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 2:52 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:17 pm
Posts: 9
Steam ID: N/A
xfire ID: N/A
Just for the record I double checked my BIOS revision...
It was 1.0.13, which is the latest one.
So I decided to re-download this version and flash the BIOS again. :)
Rebooted and it gave the same message again. :(
So once more I changed the 2 settings mentioned earlier...
Restarted 5 times and then shut down completely / restarted 5 times also and so far so good! :o
Hopefully this is it now (fingers and toes crossed) - a few more reboots tomorrow will confirm whether it has finally been fixed or not... ;)

Regards,
Conor

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Core Processor Q9550 2.83GHz 1333MHz FSB 12MB Cache
4GB Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz 4x1024MB Memory
640 GB Serial ATA Non Raid 7200 RPM Hard Drive
512MB ATI Radeon 4850 Graphics Card
Genuine Windows XP Professional SP3
Air Cooled Heatsink
DVD+/-RW 16X


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Fri Oct 23, 2009 3:52 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 248
Location: Texas, USA
Hopefully you've gotten it sorted out, but that is unusual.

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB stock Dell DDR2 @ 850MHz
2x ATi Radeon HD4850 (Crossfire)
500GB 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
Vista 64
3DMark06: 17488
3DMark Vantage: P11419


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Sun Oct 25, 2009 7:04 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 6:17 pm
Posts: 9
Steam ID: N/A
xfire ID: N/A
Well guess what - the above error has returned! :(
It is only a new PC 2 months old - and the motherboard has been replaced a month ago...
Seems like something is causing the data in the CMOS memory to get corrupt.
Then upon reboot when the checksum value is computed, it then restores to default settings to protect the BIOS...
I'm going to re-seat the battery and maybe replace it - even though it's new and see if it fixes the problem...
Any other suggestions would be really great! ;)

Thanks,
Conor

_________________
Intel Core 2 Quad Core Processor Q9550 2.83GHz 1333MHz FSB 12MB Cache
4GB Dual Channel DDR2 800MHz 4x1024MB Memory
640 GB Serial ATA Non Raid 7200 RPM Hard Drive
512MB ATI Radeon 4850 Graphics Card
Genuine Windows XP Professional SP3
Air Cooled Heatsink
DVD+/-RW 16X


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:57 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 248
Location: Texas, USA
You've already touched on my top two suspicions: the battery or a broader problem with the motherboard itself.

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB stock Dell DDR2 @ 850MHz
2x ATi Radeon HD4850 (Crossfire)
500GB 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
Vista 64
3DMark06: 17488
3DMark Vantage: P11419


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Floppy Disk(s) Fail (40) CMOS Checksum Error Defaults Loaded
 Post Posted: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:20 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sat Dec 26, 2009 1:08 am
Posts: 1
xfire ID: Seknem
I am having this problem and something else going on as well. It seems that after about 10 seconds of operation, the computer locks up. I just replaced my motherboard as well with a brand new one, and replaced the power supply with a 750watt Corsair for good measure (omg taking out Dell's power supply was a bitch!!!). The reason I replaced it was because one of the power MOSFET's blew right next to the CPU, the ones that are covered by the black heat sink. I have bolted everything down, connected everything that I can see requires connecting, the fans turn on and it powers fine but it just freezes up after a little bit of time after operation.

I feel like my problem is its overheating or something and its trying to protect itself but I really am just guessing as I have no clue. The most success I've got with it was it managed to get to the Windows load screen before it locked up. I'm not sure if I'm smelling smoke coming from the thing as the entire case still smells like smoke from when the MOSFET blew a while ago. I don't see any smoke.

I'm guessing possibly its:
1. The CPU. I didn't have any silicon on me today to reapply to where the CPU connects to the Heat sink, so I just hoped that the goop thats still left on there would be good enough once I tightly bolted down the heat sink. If the CPU is getting too hot, will it commonly freeze like this?
2. I'm missing a connection somewhere. There are four small SATA connectors on the top left of the board, three of the connectors are black and one of them is a light blue color. I know that one goes to the hard drive, and two go to the DVD-R drive and CD drive. I know for a fact that all four were connected originally but I can't remember or find where the hell the fourth one that goes in the blue slot connects to. I'm thinking maybe they just put it in there and left it dangling, because I did originally have like 2 other extra SATA connectors hanging inside the case for extra equipment, but I don't know for sure. I don't see any other possible connections that the fourth SATA would go to.


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 6 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: