Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion




 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:13 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:32 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Japan
drBlahMan wrote:
If the SLI bridge is not attached to the gpu's, only 1 gpu will be accounted for. SLI is disabled when the bridge is not connected. The other gpu is not doing anything but taking up space, unless you're playing a game that's PhysX compatible (that's a whole different story) :)



i think it make sense, but in the 3DMark06 Score i get, here it is:

13897 3DMarks - SLI enabled

11898 3DMarks - SLI disabled

13321 3DMarks - SLI enabled ( without bridge )


so when SLI is disabled and using the other card for PhysX acceleration the score is only 11898 but with SLI enabled and bridge connected 13897 and without the bridge but still SLI enabled 13321. now im confuse about the result. :cry:
and ive seen lot of post about the same thing going on with other people in the net whos using SLI and encountering same problems, they tried lot of things. but looks like changing SLI bridge or taking out the SLI bridge works. tho without the SLI bridge ive read that it will use the SLI software installed with the drivers so it will become a bit slower than with a bridge connected.

ok heres the link of the topics i read,

http://forums.nvidia.com/index.php?showtopic=19181

and ive read a lot more topics by searching the net. :? :(

_________________
Intel 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.66Ghz
nVidia nForce 650i SLI
2x nVidia GeForce 9800 GT 512MB SLI
4.00 GB DDR2 800Mhz
Vista Home Premium SP2 32Bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 3:44 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
13897 3DMarks - SLI enabled
This is understood because the gpu's are attached by bridge.

11898 3DMarks - SLI disabled
This is understood because 1 gpu is being detected for use.

13321 3DMarks - SLI enabled ( without bridge )
Since you're using the current Nvidia drivers, this score is based on the 1 gpu for graphics + 1 gpu for PhysX...SLI bridge is not required for this feature. In the Nvidia control panel, you probably have PhysX and SLI enabled.

I think you need a new SLI bridge like dcgtls had stated.

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Sun Sep 27, 2009 4:33 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 10:32 pm
Posts: 30
Location: Japan
drBlahMan wrote:
11898 3DMarks - SLI disabled
This is understood because 1 gpu is being detected for use.


but with this score, 2 GPUs are connected too in my mother board with SLI disabled and PhysX enabled. but then its almost 2000 points lower than with SLI enabled, PhysX enabled, but without SLI bridge connected and no red flickering problem with the graphics anymore.


drBlahMan wrote:
I think you need a new SLI bridge like dcgtls had stated.


this is a great option too. but sooner im planning on changing my mobo so i think i will get a SLI bridge with it. so maybe wont buy the SLI bridge for now.


thanks a lot for the help mate. :D ;)

_________________
Intel 2 Quad Q9400 @ 2.66Ghz
nVidia nForce 650i SLI
2x nVidia GeForce 9800 GT 512MB SLI
4.00 GB DDR2 800Mhz
Vista Home Premium SP2 32Bit


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Sun Nov 07, 2010 7:36 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
I have the same problem, unlucky me :? I have the XPS630i almost two years now, but few weeks ago i notice during playing the game flickering of the screen when SLI Enabled.

I have a:
Q9300 2,5 Ghz CPU
2x 8800GT in SLI
4GB ram
Win7 Ultimate 32bit

I had a problem with one GPU so changed the one, so my bridge was out for some time, after the new GPU camed i tryed it with no problem but after few weeks the flickering appeared. I tryed almost everything:

- changed the bridge
- changed the position of the GPUs in mobo
- changed the monitor
- changed the DVI cable to the monitor
- was trying to pull the bridge down, to sides and so on...

Nothing helped, only now it sometimes disappear and after a while its back :( I have no idea what it can be,, calling Dell tomorrow and if i would have luck with them will you know. When someone have any suggestion how to solve the problem,, welcome :)

Tomas

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 6:41 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 am
Posts: 3179
Location: In the Green Zone
tomas.salat wrote:
Nothing helped, only now it sometimes disappear and after a while its back :( I have no idea what it can be,, calling Dell tomorrow and if i would have luck with them will you know. When someone have any suggestion how to solve the problem,, welcome :)


Sounds like it's time for some new gpu's :think:

_________________
ASUS ROG Maximus Gene V w/Core i5 2500k
G.Skill Sniper 1866MHz 8Gb | Phanteks TC120X w/Corsair SP120s
ASUS GTX 770 Direct CU II OC 2Gb | Creative Sound Blaster ZX
Samsung 840 250Gb | WD Velociraptor 600Gb | Corsair AX-760
ASUS PA248Q-IPS | Ducky Zero DK2108 w/Zinc + PBT Keycaps
Razer DeathAdder 2k13 | Razer Manticor | Razer Tiamat 2.2
Fractal Design Arc Mini | HP Officejet Pro K8600 | Windows 7


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Mon Nov 08, 2010 7:41 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
drBlahMan wrote:
tomas.salat wrote:
Nothing helped, only now it sometimes disappear and after a while its back :( I have no idea what it can be,, calling Dell tomorrow and if i would have luck with them will you know. When someone have any suggestion how to solve the problem,, welcome :)


Sounds like it's time for some new gpu's :think:


Its still in garantie so i ll try to do through Dell and ll see :)

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 11:13 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
After few calls and mails with Dell tech support where they couldnt assign me to any country, so i ended on tech support for Slovakai "which is fine, cause iam Slovak :D" but in Poland,, so after 30min calling with some girl with a cute Czech accent they sending me a new PSU and a Graphic card,, so i ll try to change that with that and so on, and ll see :)

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 7:17 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1088
Location: Nevada
tomas.salat wrote:
After few calls and mails with Dell tech support where they couldnt assign me to any country, so i ended on tech support for Slovakai "which is fine, cause iam Slovak :D" but in Poland,, so after 30min calling with some girl with a cute Czech accent they sending me a new PSU and a Graphic card,, so i ll try to change that with that and so on, and ll see :)


I visited Gdansk Poland 20 or so years ago when I was in the Navy. I believe at the time we were the first US Warship to visit in 72 years. Not sure though. The people were very nice and were glad to have us visit. They all wanted one of our "White Hats" :)

Well, I hope they get your PC straightened out for you. Let us know.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 8:31 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
KevinK37 wrote:
tomas.salat wrote:
After few calls and mails with Dell tech support where they couldnt assign me to any country, so i ended on tech support for Slovakai "which is fine, cause iam Slovak :D" but in Poland,, so after 30min calling with some girl with a cute Czech accent they sending me a new PSU and a Graphic card,, so i ll try to change that with that and so on, and ll see :)


I visited Gdansk Poland 20 or so years ago when I was in the Navy. I believe at the time we were the first US Warship to visit in 72 years. Not sure though. The people were very nice and were glad to have us visit. They all wanted one of our "White Hats" :)

Well, I hope they get your PC straightened out for you. Let us know.

Kevin


Hi Kevin,

yeah, i can imagine, like my country also Poland was a satelite state of Russia and to see people from the US, which was the country of freedom for us, was something "exotic" :) Sure,, i want the white too :D

I hope too,, today the GPU and PSU should arrive so ll change it today and hopefully i ll have a working XPS at the night :P

Tomas

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Thu Nov 11, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
I found the problem!!! I think :). Today the new GPU and PSU camed, so i began to reassembly my XPS. When i took the MoBo out,, something falled out,, hmmm, wtf is this??? It was a SMD component from the board,, hups,, two if them,, vrrrr,, it looks like stabilizator for the current,, this would explain the flickering...

Calling Dell tomorrow,, hope they ll send me something new :P

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Red Flickering monitor in game when SLI enabled, help?
 Post Posted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 6:03 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun Nov 23, 2008 9:43 am
Posts: 23
So,

the PSU, MoBo, front Fans and one GPU was changed, old SLI bridge and the system is working now :)

I have no idea what was causing that problem, but the Monitor, SLI bridge and i guess also the GPUs wasnt that the problen but the MoBo.

Tomas

_________________
XPS 630i
P2210 and P2010 monitor
Q9300, 2.5 GHz
4GB RAM, DDR2
2x 500GB HDD
2x SLI 8800GT
Additional FAN on the rear (90mm Noctua)
Stock Mobo
Stock PSU
Stock FANs
Stock DVD's


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 36 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: