Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion




 [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:46 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:35 pm
Posts: 4
Hi all, I am new to this forum and need help with my XPS630. I just bought the machine for use as my primary freelance (illustration, graphics, animation) rig but also like to play games (Crysis, City of Heroes, DoW2, etc).

I am having problems with the Radeon HD 4850 cards and would appreciate some advice. When I got the machine I updated the drivers from the ATI site to resolve a crash that I was experiencing when launching City of Heroes. But now whenever I load a game there is a veeeeeeerrry long black screen pause before the game kicks in. Then there is always the same pause when it goes from a game menu to the actual game itself or back to the menu again. The pause is quite long and makes the machine seem very slow (while it should be the opposite).

Then I tried to uninstall the new drivers and reinstall the legacy set (also from ATI). Now I cannot get any drivers to load properly and the CCC won't run.

Any suggestions? What am I doing wrong here? Are there stable drivers that I should be using? And where can I get them?

Thanks for any help you can offer.

_________________
Intel Core2 Q8200
8GB DDR2 SDRAM
640GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
AMD Radeon 4850 X2 via Crossfire
Vista 64 Home Premium


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:50 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Have you tried using the drivers from the dell website? The thing with the ATI cards from dell is that i believe that the bios are modified to run on xfire on the stock dell motherboard, mainly because the stock dell motherboard is an NVIDIA Chipset, which is not really meant for Crossfire. I had nvidia cards in my system when i bought it, so all i can say is try to uninstall all video drivers from your system, and install the ones from the dell website. That might help.

Let us know what happens.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 7:43 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:35 pm
Posts: 4
m3th0d1c4l wrote:
Have you tried using the drivers from the dell website? The thing with the ATI cards from dell is that i believe that the bios are modified to run on xfire on the stock dell motherboard, mainly because the stock dell motherboard is an NVIDIA Chipset, which is not really meant for Crossfire. I had nvidia cards in my system when i bought it, so all i can say is try to uninstall all video drivers from your system, and install the ones from the dell website. That might help.

Let us know what happens.


Thanks. I am going to give it a try. The only disappointment here is that I guess I cannot upgrade my video cards drivers until Dell gets around to translating new drivers for this system. It look like the latest Dell drivers are from last years while ATI has a set from earlier this month.

I really, really hope I am not going to regret purchasing an XPS 630. I was so excited to be on a new machine until this problem started.

_________________
Intel Core2 Q8200
8GB DDR2 SDRAM
640GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
AMD Radeon 4850 X2 via Crossfire
Vista 64 Home Premium


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Tue Jun 30, 2009 8:06 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
you could just buy a pair of nvidia cards and sell the ati 4850's. that should solve all your problems guaranteed. Crossfire is not really meant to be run on an NFORCE Chipset. A lot of people have problems with the ati cards on the XPS 630.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:28 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 248
Location: Texas, USA
For what it's worth, I'm running a pair of 4850s in CrossfireX. I've updated the drivers using ATI\AMD's website several times since getting the computer, and everything continues to function as expected.

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB stock Dell DDR2 @ 850MHz
2x ATi Radeon HD4850 (Crossfire)
500GB 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
Vista 64
3DMark06: 17488
3DMark Vantage: P11419


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 4:15 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:35 pm
Posts: 4
ReverendTed wrote:
For what it's worth, I'm running a pair of 4850s in CrossfireX. I've updated the drivers using ATI\AMD's website several times since getting the computer, and everything continues to function as expected.


Hey that's actually very good to hear. Can you just give me a run through of the process? I tried updating through the AMD site and the CCC stop working. I kept getting an error on boot saying that the "CCC has stopped working and needed to close". So I uninstalled all the AMD drivers and re-installed the latest drivers offered by Dell. Unfortunately using those drivers I get two different issues...

1. City of Heroes crashes right before the login screen. I get an error that the atioglxx.dll caused the crash. Any ideas there? Maybe I need to set the hardware through CCC to certain settings?

2. Crysis... I get a reaaaaaalllly long pause on a black screen whenever the system switches from desktop to game menu or from game menu to actual game or back to either. Seems like anytime it has to change the resolution I get a ridiculously long pause looking at a blank screen.

I'm really not much of a "gamer" but I do love to play when i have time. So maybe this is a Vista 64 issue? Maybe it's me not setting the cards properly? I dunno but appreciate any advice. The system runs all the Adobe software I have installed with no issues... but I'd love to get the gaming side of my machine running smoothly as well.

Thanks in advance.

_________________
Intel Core2 Q8200
8GB DDR2 SDRAM
640GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
AMD Radeon 4850 X2 via Crossfire
Vista 64 Home Premium


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:10 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 15, 2008 6:36 am
Posts: 2717
Location: Bristol, UK
Steam ID: billybigfoot
jspangler,

First of all welcome to the forum.

If you haven't seen the resource collective yet may I suggest you pay it a visit, loads of very usefull info/links. You can click here to find the tips on how to install the Dell/ATI graphics drivers.

Hope this helps. :)

_________________
Image


i7: Intel i7 860 2.8GHz | Intel DP55WG | 8GB PC10666 | GTX275 (896Mb) | HD-1 TB | DVD/CD- LG BlueRay + DVD/CD Burner | OCZ SilentxStream 700w | RealTek ALC 889 | CASE-Lian Li 7FN Black | Win 7 U 64bit | G35/G19/G9 | Dell 22 inch SP2208WFP


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:20 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 5:35 pm
Posts: 4
billybigfoot wrote:
jspangler,

First of all welcome to the forum.

If you haven't seen the resource collective yet may I suggest you pay it a visit, loads of very usefull info/links. You can click here to find the tips on how to install the Dell/ATI graphics drivers.

Hope this helps. :)


lol... this is amazing. You guys are way better to have around than the support contract that came with my system!
Thanks!

_________________
Intel Core2 Q8200
8GB DDR2 SDRAM
640GB SATA Hard Drive (7200RPM)
AMD Radeon 4850 X2 via Crossfire
Vista 64 Home Premium


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 01, 2009 5:21 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2009 11:58 am
Posts: 248
Location: Texas, USA
I wish I could tell you some secret to getting them working.

I did reinstall the drivers after upgrading to Vista 64, though I don't remember the process.

I'd recommend trying the following:

- Uninstall the drivers and CCC, then run a driver cleaner to wipe everything clean.
- Install the 4850 drivers from the Dell website.
- Install updated drivers from AMD\ATI.
- Restart a couple of times, maybe?

_________________
Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
4GB stock Dell DDR2 @ 850MHz
2x ATi Radeon HD4850 (Crossfire)
500GB 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache
Vista 64
3DMark06: 17488
3DMark Vantage: P11419


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Wed Mar 02, 2011 7:48 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2010 2:15 pm
Posts: 30
Steam ID: JABowders
I can help with this..If you have not resolved it yet, a lesson learned...

Before trying to install the new video driver:

1. Unistall the old driver and CCC software

2. Delete the ATI folders left on your system (Program Files and Program Files x86)

3. Reboot the computer

4. Install the NEW Driver/CCC software package

And it should be up and running.

I have spent more hours than I would ever want to admit updating drivers for my pair of 630i with Dual ATI HD 4850. This procedure has saved me so much time and trouble.


James

_________________
I have two (2)
XPS 630i Red
Processor: Q9550 @ 2.83 GHz
HDD: 750G, 500G, 500G
RAM: 8GB
Dual: nVidia GTX 660 SC 2 GB (4GB) in SLI
Creative XFi Xtreme Gamer
O/S: MS Windows Vista Home Premium 64
40" Sony 1920 x 1080


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: New XPS 630 - need help with Radeon HD 4850 dual setup
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 03, 2011 9:57 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
I know your trying to help, but the OP hasn't been around since his last post in this thread almost 2 years ago.

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 11 posts ] 

Board index » Dell Discussion and Support Forums » XPS 630i - Dell XPS 630i / XPS 630 Resource Collective » Resource Collective Discussion


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: