Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows XP




 [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: No more Vista.. I want XP. Can I use a Dell XP3 cd image?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:07 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Tue Sep 23, 2008 7:53 pm
Posts: 3
Okay

There is a LOT of kit in our offices with Dell a badge on it, they are are running XP SP2. (PS Microsoft why all the Vista changes???) I have my office dell laptop with XP on it, I like it, use it everyday.

My home PC is a 630i running Vista. Now someone in the test team group has a Dell XP SP3 CD for testing and I want to install it on my 630i in my home, it works fine on my M70.

I did try XP Sp2 when my 630i arrived but it BSOD.
Will the Dell XP3 OEM CD BSOD?


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: No more Vista.. I want XP. Can I use a Dell XP3 cd image?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 8:34 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
While service pack 3 fixes numerous problems with XP, if it crashed badly the first time, I'd say there's a good chance of it happening again...though there are some folks here who are running XP on their 630is. The only way to know for sure is to try it; I don't know whether it makes a difference if you're using XP Home or XP Pro?

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: No more Vista.. I want XP. Can I use a Dell XP3 cd image?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:12 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 10:43 pm
Posts: 44
Location: Houston, TX
I'm using XP Pro on my 630 and installed SP3 and have zero issues.

-=gos=-

_________________
-- XPS 630 Red --
-- IntelĀ® Core2 Q6600 Quad-Core --
-- 4GB OCZ SLI DDR2 @ 1066MHz --
-- (2) nVidia GeForce 8800 GT 512MB SLI --
-- 500GB - 7200RPM, SATA 3.0Gb/s, 16MB Cache --
-- 22" SP2208WFP Wide Flat Panel Monitor --


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: No more Vista.. I want XP. Can I use a Dell XP3 cd image?
 Post Posted: Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:37 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:09 pm
Posts: 1323
Location: Oregon
Steam ID: devjonfos
XP Pro SP2 here, which is the original OS shipped with my 630i.

_________________
XPS 630 Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz OC | Win 7 Pro 64-bit/Win XP Pro 32-bit | 4GB DC DDR2 800MHz |
BFG OCE GTX 275 896MB | 500GB SATA No RAID | 16X CD/DVD Burner Single Drive |
Sound Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio | BIOS 1.0.8 | 3DMark06 16465 3DMark Vantage P13033
Image
My XPS 630 Blog


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 4 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows XP


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: