Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista




 [ 12 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:17 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
I would like to know how many explorer.exe I should have running. When I open Task Manager I see 3 explorer.exe`s running. one is explorer.exe and two are explorer.exe*32?
I ran all virus scanners (AVG, Malarebytes, Defender) and I have no malware or viruses. So is it normal for all these to be running?
Right now with iexplorer open I have 4 iexplorer.exe*32 running. Is this becasue I have Vista 64bit OS? Please let me know this is all normal :?:

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:38 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
This is normal behavior - some of the programs/features in windows use these process even when you would think they would not. So having more than one running at a time should not be too much of a concern.

Some will tell you that you should not have more than one - but even on brand new installs of Windows this has been the case for me.

Make sure that the process that are running are from a windows directory.

Someone correct me if I am way off base here . . .

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:13 pm 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:37 am
Posts: 42
Location: Branford, CT
@drenai2001, did you mean explorer.exe or iexplorer.exe? You said you have 3 explorer.exe but then when you switched iexplorer.exe.

explorer.exe is the taskbar and all the interface stuff. You really should only have one of these and since you are running x64, it should just be explorer.exe. Usually having more explorer.exe can point to a virus or spyware. In some cases Windows gets buggy and has more open, restarting should get rid of them.

iexplorer.exe*32 is Internet Explorer but its running in 32bit. That's fine as more browser add ons and plug ins don't support 64 bit yet.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Stock Motherboard
Intel Quadcore Q9300 2.5 ghz
Stock RAM 6 GB
2x WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache (RAID, primary) | 1x Samsung 640GB, 16MB cache (storage)
Nvidia GeForce 9800GT
Creative Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
------------------------
Dell SP2309W 23" LCD Monitor
Razer Lycosa Keyboard
Razer DeathAdder Mouse
Logitech Z2300 2.1 Speakers


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Tue Apr 13, 2010 11:57 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Ya I mean to say both of them, 3 explorer.exe`s and 4 iexplorer.exe`s running. Sorry.
Thanks for the reply. kinda was a little worried all these running. You never know nowadays.
Ya no matter what even doing a fresh restart I still have 3 explorer.exe`s running. one say explorer.exe and 2 that say explorer.exe *32 :?: I cant remember if these were all there before.

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 12:05 am 
Offline
Member
Member
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 4:37 am
Posts: 42
Location: Branford, CT
No worries :-)

You can end the process if you want... or all of them if you want to see what they are for. If you end up closing the task bar, just click file, new task and then type explorer.exe and then it should start up again.

_________________
Dell XPS 630i
Stock Motherboard
Intel Quadcore Q9300 2.5 ghz
Stock RAM 6 GB
2x WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache (RAID, primary) | 1x Samsung 640GB, 16MB cache (storage)
Nvidia GeForce 9800GT
Creative Soundblaster X-FI XtremeGamer
Windows 7 Ultimate x64
------------------------
Dell SP2309W 23" LCD Monitor
Razer Lycosa Keyboard
Razer DeathAdder Mouse
Logitech Z2300 2.1 Speakers


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 1:04 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
OK guys something weird. restarted my computer and this time the following error message came up. "windows explorer has stopped working" not one but 3 of them popped up. :wtf: I can close them and everthing is fine. restart again still pops up. again PC is fine no crashing and doesnt happhn again till I restart. Virus scan again and nothing, clean. What next?

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 2:24 am 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
I really think that having multiple instances when running in the 64 bit environment is not out of the ordinary. The way I understand how Windows 64 bit handles 32 bit process and programs is that it runs it in a 32 bit wrapper that also requires having, in some cases, multiple instances running.

Maybe run hijackthis ( http://free.antivirus.com/hijackthis/ ) and post the report here.

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:26 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Well I got the errors from stopping when I start my computer up anyway. I ran registry Cleaner and fixed the problem. When I booted into safe mode it didnt come up so I figured it was a startup item not working properly and the Reg Cleaner found it and fixed it :bow: The explorer.exe processes still come up but i just shut down the 2 that say explorer.exe *32 and everything is Tickity Boo :D
Thanks everyone for your support this site rocks :clap:

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 5:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Well that was short lived, this morning starting up my pc from a cold boot it still comes up the explorer error "windows explorer has stopped working" . I ran the program you suggested (hijack this) and got the following log info from the scan.
Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 8:59:27 AM, on 4/14/2010
Platform: Windows Vista SP2 (WinNT 6.00.1906)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v8.00 (8.00.6001.18904)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\Users\User\Desktop\HijackThis.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://ca.msn.com/
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Local Page = C:\Windows\SysWOW64\blank.htm
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: SSVHelper Class - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files (x86)\Java\jre1.6.0_03\bin\ssv.dll
O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [NVIDIA nTune] C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneCmd.exe resetprofile
O4 - HKLM\..\Policies\Explorer\Run: [Policies] C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Live\Microsoft Live.exe
O4 - HKCU\..\Policies\Explorer\Run: [Policies] C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Live\Microsoft Live.exe
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\Run: [CtxfiReg] CTXFIREG.exe /FAIL2 (User 'SYSTEM')
O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\Run: [CtxfiReg] CTXFIREG.exe /FAIL2 (User 'Default user')
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O16 - DPF: {39B0684F-D7BF-4743-B050-FDC3F48F7E3B} - http://www.fileplanet.com/fpdlmgr/cabs/ ... 10.115.cab
O16 - DPF: {E06E2E99-0AA1-11D4-ABA6-0060082AA75C} -
O16 - DPF: {E2883E8F-472F-4FB0-9522-AC9BF37916A7} - http://platformdl.adobe.com/NOS/getPlusPlus/1.6/gp.cab
O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\Alg.exe,-112 (ALG) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\alg.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: ASP.NET State Service (aspnet_state) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\aspnet_state.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: Creative ALchemy AL6 Licensing Service - Creative Labs - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Creative Labs Shared\Service\AL6Licensing.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Audio Engine Licensing Service - Creative Labs - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Creative Labs Shared\Service\CTAELicensing.exe
O23 - Service: Creative Audio Service (CTAudSvcService) - Creative Technology Ltd - C:\Program Files (x86)\Creative\Shared Files\CTAudSvc.exe
O23 - Service: @dfsrres.dll,-101 (DFSR) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\DFSR.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: InstallDriver Table Manager (IDriverT) - Macrovision Corporation - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\InstallShield\Driver\11\Intel 32\IDriverT.exe
O23 - Service: @keyiso.dll,-100 (KeyIso) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @comres.dll,-2797 (MSDTC) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\msdtc.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: nHancer Support (nHancer) - KSE - Korndörfer Software Engineering - C:\Program Files\nHancer\nHancerService.exe
O23 - Service: Pure Networks Platform Service (nmservice) - Cisco Systems, Inc. - C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Pure Networks Shared\Platform\nmsrvc.exe
O23 - Service: Performance Service (nTuneService) - NVIDIA - C:\Program Files (x86)\NVIDIA Corporation\nTune\nTuneService.exe
O23 - Service: NVIDIA Display Driver Service (nvsvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\nvvsvc.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\psbase.dll,-300 (ProtectedStorage) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\Locator.exe,-2 (RpcLocator) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\locator.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\samsrv.dll,-1 (SamSs) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\lsass.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\SLsvc.exe,-101 (slsvc) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\SLsvc.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\ui0detect.exe,-101 (UI0Detect) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\UI0Detect.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%SystemRoot%\system32\vds.exe,-100 (vds) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\System32\vds.exe (file missing)
O23 - Service: @%systemroot%\system32\vssvc.exe,-102 (VSS) - Unknown owner - C:\Windows\system32\vssvc.exe (file missing)

--
End of file - 5316 bytes
What action should I take on this?

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:26 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
I will look at the information when I can . . .

Try running sfc /scannow at the command line.

(Go to the Start Menu, in the blank type CMD, then "sfc /scannow")

What this command does is checks the files in your Windows install and see if they are the correct versions.

I am going to have to get back to you on the log once I have some time to check it out and look at it closely . . .

Sorry for the delay . . .

David

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:40 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Don't close any explorer.exe processes. You probably have the "Launch folder Windows in a separate process" enabled in "Folder Options." No biggie there as I have it enabled as well. With it enabled it's not unusual to have two explorer.exe processes in Task Manager and then the third instance can be explained by plugging in an USB device such as digital camera or something.

If you're explorer.exe process is constantly crashing, however, the file maybe corrupt so do what Davbow says.

If nothing else works (THIS WILL SEEM WEIRD, I KNOW) but I would suggest copying the explorer.exe process from your SysWOW64 folder to your System32 folder. You SHOULD NOT have to overwrite any files. I got this fix from frequent Win7 64-bit explorer crashes & this worked for me...Probably has something to do with a 32-bit plugin looking for the explorer.exe process in the System32 folder. I dunno. All I know is that is worked for me & several other people who were annoyed by this problem....

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | 11GB GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Task Manager Question
 Post Posted: Thu Apr 15, 2010 12:18 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2008 3:16 am
Posts: 134
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Well I found out that running these two extra explorer.exe *32 is indead a virus :evil: I ran SUPERAntiSpyware and it found 2 nasty little buggers in the Local/Roaming/Temp folder called xxx.xxx and uuu.uuu. Well it deleated them and I restarted computer. well they came back along with the explorer errors. While in Task Manager shutting down the two exes I seen for a sec a program flash on in task manager saying "Windows Live.exe" and then dissapear then iexplorer.exe*32 popped up in Task manager :o two iexplorer.exe *32 :wtf: Now I know sometings is going on. well I msconfig and saw a program that wasnt there yesterday called windows Live.exe with an unknown manufactuer name :? So I unchecked it and rebooted. Well it came back so I unchecked it again and saw that it was located in program files x86/microsoft live. well I went there and their was no file there by that name. Now I went to folder options and unchecked Hide System Folders and there the little bugger was. Funny Since I scanned my computer with the following (AVG, Malabytes,SuperAntiSpyware, Defender and lastly installed Avast and removed AVG) nothing found the file Windows Live .exe? Well I deleated the folder, deleated the xxx.xxx amd uuu.uu files, used cccleaner and reran Avast and deleated the registry key saying Windows Live.exe hidden in Hkey_Local Machine/software/Microsoft/windows/current version/run and did a restart of Pc with fingers crossed. Well Computer booted up and no more errors, no more xxx.xxx files , no more explorer.exe *32 running and windows live didnt reapear in System config startup :clap: :clap: Holly Crap these things are nasty buggers.

_________________
Intel Core2 Quad Q9650 @4.20Ghz
EVGA 790i Ultra FTW SLi
Xigmatek Dark Knight HDT Cooler
Patriot Viper 4GB PC16000 2000MHz (9-9-9-24)
Dual EVGA GeForce GTX 570 Superclocked 1280Mb in SLi
Nvidia 9800GT 512MB for PhysX
WD 750GB 7200 RPM & WD Black Caviar 1TB 7200 Rpm
Corsair HX1000W P/S
NZXT Sentry 2 Touchscreen LCD Display
SB X-FI Xtreme Gamer
Logitech Z-5500 Digital 505 watts 5.1 Speakers
Saitek x52 Flight Control System
Vista Ultimate 64Bit SP2


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 12 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 1 guest

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: