Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista




 [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 5:54 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
i am in germany ,and i have 32Mbit down and 2 Mbit up.
how much fast speed did you in USA ?

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Last edited by kickdown on Tue Jul 21, 2009 6:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Jul 17, 2009 7:03 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
I have 6Mbps down and 768kbps up on my dsl line at home.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Tue Jul 21, 2009 8:46 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
3Mb/sec down, 768kbps up

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 4:48 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
thank´s gdonner and KevinK37 for the info. ;)
i have "Kabel Deutschland" as Internet Provider ,that have triple play.
TV,Phone and Docsis 2.0 internet over coaxial wire.

other IP (Internet Provider) have DSL. 6MBit down and 1MBit UP speed is in germany default.
some peoples have 8-16 MBit down and 1-1,5MBit UP Speed.

and a little count people ca. 50000 have VDSL 50MBit down and 10MBit UP.
that cost 90€ (127.81$)

my IP cost 39€ (55.38$)

that have PAY tv and "Public Disclaimer TV it call ARD ,ZDF,and Private TV is
RTL,Kabel 1,etc.
I always thought in USA have much more SPEED 100MB or more.

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:20 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2008 1:28 am
Posts: 1086
Location: Nevada
I pay 34.99 just for internet right now, much more speed would mean much more dollars... :D I'm happy where I'm at right now, suits me just fine.

Kevin

_________________
630i
Stock Mobo
E8500 @ Stock
8 GB of Corsair Ram
Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
Soundblaster Audigy 2ZS
EVGA GTX 660 Ti SC
and other standard stuff :D


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:27 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
Image
Quote:
I pay 34.99 just for internet right now, much more speed would mean much more dollars... :D I'm happy where I'm at right now, suits me just fine.

i hope in future your get more speed for lower money. ;)

thank´s Kevin.
and best regards thorsten kickuth.


here is a testpage
http://www.speedtest.net

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 6:51 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:09 pm
Posts: 1323
Location: Oregon
Steam ID: devjonfos
The speed test back in February...

Image

Nothing has changed except they want to raise my cable rates. :shock:

But I have Verizon FIOS in my neighborhood and when I threaten to switch, Comcast backs down and keeps my cable rates reasonable. :lol: (I have double play: Internet + TV).

_________________
XPS 630 Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz OC | Win 7 Pro 64-bit/Win XP Pro 32-bit | 4GB DC DDR2 800MHz |
BFG OCE GTX 275 896MB | 500GB SATA No RAID | 16X CD/DVD Burner Single Drive |
Sound Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio | BIOS 1.0.8 | 3DMark06 16465 3DMark Vantage P13033
Image
My XPS 630 Blog


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Jul 22, 2009 7:16 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
Quote:
and when I threaten to switch, Comcast backs down and keeps my cable rates reasonable.

nice devjonfos
exactly as in germany threaten to switch, and the ISP say´s
please let me not alone in the jungle of the ISP chaos :lol:

the competition is big in germany. :mrgreen:

best regards thorsten kickuth

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 6:30 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Sun May 25, 2008 2:43 am
Posts: 52
Image

Im using Comcast.


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Wed Aug 19, 2009 4:25 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
big thank´s shark1217

in the USA is the upload speed much more higher than in germany. ;)

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:24 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator

Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 2:50 am
Posts: 1805
Location: Texas
Steam ID: davbow
Image

_________________
Image

Intel i7 950 @ 3.9 GHz
MSI 560 Ti Twin Frozr x2 SLI @ 950 mhz
Gigabyte X58A-UD5
6 GB of Corsair memory (timings unknown atm)
H50 CPU cooler
DF-85 Chasis
3dMark11 P7800 at stock speed, P8643 overclocked


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 1:42 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 2:52 am
Posts: 717
Location: Florida
Steam ID: Hairbautt
Image

_________________
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.24GHz, Liq. Cooled | 16GB RAM @ 1600MHz
Acer Predator Z35 Monitor | Dual 6GB GeForce GTX Titans SLI
240GB SSD, 640GB, two 1TB HDDs | 1TB Passport | 24x DVD+/-RW+DL
WinTV-HVR 2250 with Remote | Media Card Reader | XBOX 360 Wireless Controller
PIXMA MG6220 AIO | C920 HD Pro | G19 Keyboard | G700s Mouse
RealTek ALC892 Audio | X-540 5.1 Speakers | G35 7.1 Headset | Hotas X Joystick
ASUS Sabertooth Z77 | Biometric Reader | 1.2KW PSU | 1500 & 550 VA UPS
Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center, 64-bit | Corsair 600T with LEDs


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:18 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
big thank´s again davbow and hairbautt
in the USA is the speed a wide difference.

in germany is the low speed 2Mbit medium speed 6-16Mbit down on DSL.
70% of all german have max 6Mbit ,else 10% have 16Mbit.
20% other termination kabel TV Docsis 2.0.
the T-com have VDSL 25 and 50 Mbit.

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:55 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:22 pm
Posts: 166
Location: 9200 Ft.
Found this post while looking around and sorry to dig it up again... Just thought you guys would laugh when you saw what kind of speed we are getting on the medium plan from WildBlue.

Image

I hope the link works but if not:

Ping: 888ms
Download: 0.87 Mb/s
Upload: 0.07 Mb/s

Haha! The price you pay to live in the middle of nowhere for peace and quiet!

:D

_________________
Dell XPS 630i:
Stock system
E8400
GeForce 8800GT
4GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz


Flight Sim PC:
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8P67 PRO Motherboard
EVGA GTX760 Superclocked ACX (x2 sli)
8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Antec HCG-750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 912 Case
Windows 7 x64
1 Dell 23" & 2 Dell 20" LCD's
Full Saitek Pro Flight FSX Setup


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Thu Mar 04, 2010 11:59 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Wow, I cant believe I never stumbled across this one. LOL.

Image

For $99 + tax a month for TV (w/HBO and Cinemax lol), Phone, and Internet, I guess its not too bad. Plus having Verizon for the Home and Cell Phone gives another $15 bucks off the wireless bill, so I guess it works pretty well for me.

bigtruck_ wrote:
Haha! The price you pay to live in the middle of nowhere for peace and quiet!


I guess it is true though. But man, I would be slitting my wrists with that internet speed. :shock:

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Last edited by m3th0d1c4l on Fri Mar 05, 2010 3:19 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:11 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:22 pm
Posts: 166
Location: 9200 Ft.
Yeah, it's true. Internet is almost $70 a month after taxes too. This is on the mid plan with WildBlue.
The top of the line home plan is almost $90 a month and you get "up to 1.5 Mb/s" download speed. I would not know what to do with that kind of speed... Haha!

:D

_________________
Dell XPS 630i:
Stock system
E8400
GeForce 8800GT
4GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz


Flight Sim PC:
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8P67 PRO Motherboard
EVGA GTX760 Superclocked ACX (x2 sli)
8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Antec HCG-750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 912 Case
Windows 7 x64
1 Dell 23" & 2 Dell 20" LCD's
Full Saitek Pro Flight FSX Setup


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:16 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
bigtruck_ wrote:
Yeah, it's true. Internet is almost $70 a month after taxes too. This is on the mid plan with WildBlue.
The top of the line home plan is almost $90 a month and you get "up to 1.5 Mb/s" download speed. I would not know what to do with that kind of speed... Haha!

:D


Hahaha! Yea, I would be out of control with 1.5Mb/s internet speed! LOL. :D

But honestly, for $70, its kind of a rip considering the speed you CAN be getting from other providers.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 12:29 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 8:22 pm
Posts: 166
Location: 9200 Ft.
If I had another option besides dial-up, believe me I would take it. There are no other options where I live and Quest and Comcast both say they have no plans to get service out my way. Cell phones don't even work out here. TV is satellite or nothing.

You want to know the worst part? We are limited to 12GB total download per 30 days... That includes heavy surfing with lots of windows and pictures open! It is a rolling 30 day period too so if we want or need to download anything big we have to plan it out so we don't go over and they cut us back to worse than dial-up. Kind of rules out Youtube or anything like that. Gaming is a no-no because of the latency, it sucks!

:D

_________________
Dell XPS 630i:
Stock system
E8400
GeForce 8800GT
4GB DDR2 @ 800Mhz


Flight Sim PC:
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8P67 PRO Motherboard
EVGA GTX760 Superclocked ACX (x2 sli)
8GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Antec HCG-750 Power Supply
Cooler Master HAF 912 Case
Windows 7 x64
1 Dell 23" & 2 Dell 20" LCD's
Full Saitek Pro Flight FSX Setup


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 1:02 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
Man, I feel bad for you man. I wish they would get some better internet out your way. If it were me, I probably wouldnt be able to live with that internet. LOL.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Fri Mar 05, 2010 10:25 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
hello @all i am back.and happy weekend.
in the USA is the internet UP speed most higher as in germany.
at the netxt time i get 100 Mbit down and 6 Mbit UP speed.jeeep

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 6:01 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Wed May 14, 2008 7:09 pm
Posts: 1323
Location: Oregon
Steam ID: devjonfos
kickdown wrote:
hello @all i am back.and happy weekend.
in the USA is the internet UP speed most higher as in germany.
at the netxt time i get 100 Mbit down and 6 Mbit UP speed.jeeep


Yes, I think that's a limitation of the technology because some systems like Cable TV were designed to deliver information and not return it. But when we shifted to a bi-directional information system like the Internet, the systems adapted as best they could. Comcast is the Cable TV Giant here, but they cannot boast fiber-to-the-home like Verizon FiOS does, so you'll typically see 20 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up. However when I was considering switching over to Verizon FiOS, I saw that they had a tier at 25 Mbps down and 15 Mbps up.

_________________
XPS 630 Q6600 @ 3.2 GHz OC | Win 7 Pro 64-bit/Win XP Pro 32-bit | 4GB DC DDR2 800MHz |
BFG OCE GTX 275 896MB | 500GB SATA No RAID | 16X CD/DVD Burner Single Drive |
Sound Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio | BIOS 1.0.8 | 3DMark06 16465 3DMark Vantage P13033
Image
My XPS 630 Blog


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 10:53 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
BTW..m3th0d1c4l
your signature look´s very nice ;)

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 06, 2010 11:23 pm 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 14, 2009 6:26 pm
Posts: 2667
kickdown wrote:
BTW..m3th0d1c4l
your signature look´s very nice ;)


LOL. Thank you. But I cant take the credit.......DrBlahman was the artist. :D

I just gave him the basic idea of how I wanted it, and he made it better than I expected.

_________________
Alienware Aurora R4
Intel Core i7 3930K
16GB Dominator Platinum 2133MHz
2GB EVGA GeForce GTX 770 SC
Sound Blaster Recon3D Fatal1ty
512GB Samsung 840 SSD
Windows 7 Ultimate x64


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 7:12 am 
Offline
Tech Guru
Tech Guru
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 23, 2009 2:22 am
Posts: 1753
We have Cox Cable here, and I subscribe to their "Premier" service, which is the best we have in the city currently for $59.99 per month. I am also behind a router, and a 24-port switch, so I would probably get a little bit better speed if I were directly connected to the modem. I have my whole house wired with Cat6 cable, to minimize needing wireless, but I have that too for the laptops. I hate wireless though. You lose almost half your bandwidth, at least I do.

Image

_________________
i7 3770K @ 4.8GHz (Koolance CPU-380i water block)
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP7 Motherboard
2x4GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 1866MHz
EVGA GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N @ 1500MHz
Dual Corsair Neutron GTX 256GB SSD's in RAID0
Corsair AX1200 power supply
Win7 x64 Ultimate
Lian LI PC-P80B case w/ custom window and lighting
Koolance ERM-2K3U Rev 1.1 (copper) external water cooler
Dell U3011 30" 2560x1600 monitor
Corsair SP2500 2.1 Audio System


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: POLL:how much fast internet SPEED have you ?
 Post Posted: Sat Apr 03, 2010 7:32 am 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 14, 2008 10:21 am
Posts: 583
Location: Germany Hamburg
nice upload speed.in germany is the upload speed regular at 1 mbit lol.
thanks for the info JDookie.
and you ping to look great. 13ms good for online gaming.

_________________
Z77a GD65::CORSAIR 16 GB DDR3 1600 :: Samsung SSD 256GB x2
intel CORE I7 3770k 3.5Ghz :: Noctua DH 14
Gigabyte GTX 670 2GB OC::::LG Flatron W2353v 23 inch 1080P
Windows 7 Ultimate X64

WWW


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 49 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
CompUSA