Forum          FAQ

Loading

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista




 [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Windows doesn't work!
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:05 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 pm
Posts: 126
I have just installed my original 630i mobo, graphics card & psu into a new case (it's a long story)! I have also tried to re-install windows (both the XP & Vista versions) but all I get is a message saying windows needs drivers! I am guessing that windows cannot find my hard drive? However, the hard drive appears in the BIOS! I am using a western digital hard drive but the WD web site informs me that drivers are not needed as windows already has them! Can anyone help me please?

_________________
XPS 630i (silver) case
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC ACX 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card
8GB G.Skill DDR3 Sniper Memory
Windows 7 Home Edition (64 bit) SP1
ACER S271HL LED HD 27inch Monitor
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 Mobo
Intel 3rd Gen. Core i5-3570K (4 x 3.40GHz, Ivy Bridge, Socket 1155, 6Mb L3 Cache) CPU (OC'd to 4.2GHz)
Logitech G35 7.1 surround sound Headset
2 x SCSI Hardrives (1 x 256Gb Crucial M4 SSD & 1 x 600Gb WDC Blue WD64 00AAKS-75A7B)
Perixx PX-2000 Illuminated Gaming Keyboard
Gigabyte M8000X Laser Gaming Mouse
Scythe Kaze Master Pro Ace Manual Fan Controller[/size]
Modified front case fans (2 x Aerocool Shark 12cm Quad LED 15 Blade Fluid
Dynamic Bearing Fan-Blue)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows doesn't work!
 Post Posted: Sat Mar 09, 2013 10:44 pm 
Offline
Board Moderator
Board Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 30, 2008 7:40 pm
Posts: 2864
Location: Elkhart, Indiana (USA)
I assume you set the boot device in your BIOS to the right DVD drive so Windows can be loaded? As long as your hard drive is connected to the first SATA device, then you should be good to go...

_________________
Dell XPS 8700 | Core i7 4770 3.4GHz | BIOS A11 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit SP1 | 16GB G.SKILL DDR3 Sniper 1600MHz | EVGA GeForce GTX 970 SC | Dell S2340M 23" IPS LED | Seasonic 650W M12II-650 | Samsung SSD 850 EVO 1TB | Toshiba DT01ACA100 1TB | ASUS Xonar DX 7.1 | ASUS DRW-24B1ST | Logitech G100S | Dell SK-8135 keyboard | Logitech Cordless Rumblepad 2


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows doesn't work!
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 12:40 am 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 pm
Posts: 126
Ok I'll check that I have my HD installed properly. I really appreciate your help.

_________________
XPS 630i (silver) case
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC ACX 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card
8GB G.Skill DDR3 Sniper Memory
Windows 7 Home Edition (64 bit) SP1
ACER S271HL LED HD 27inch Monitor
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 Mobo
Intel 3rd Gen. Core i5-3570K (4 x 3.40GHz, Ivy Bridge, Socket 1155, 6Mb L3 Cache) CPU (OC'd to 4.2GHz)
Logitech G35 7.1 surround sound Headset
2 x SCSI Hardrives (1 x 256Gb Crucial M4 SSD & 1 x 600Gb WDC Blue WD64 00AAKS-75A7B)
Perixx PX-2000 Illuminated Gaming Keyboard
Gigabyte M8000X Laser Gaming Mouse
Scythe Kaze Master Pro Ace Manual Fan Controller[/size]
Modified front case fans (2 x Aerocool Shark 12cm Quad LED 15 Blade Fluid
Dynamic Bearing Fan-Blue)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows doesn't work!
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 1:55 pm 
Offline
Member
Member

Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2013 7:32 pm
Posts: 126
Found the solution at last! My Bios was set up for RAID and it wanted drivers. Thanks to somebody on the internet (not this site unfortunately) all I had to do was disable the RAID option in the Bios & away she went! Thanks for you help anyway.

_________________
XPS 630i (silver) case
EVGA GeForce GTX 760 SC ACX 2GB GDDR5 Graphics Card
8GB G.Skill DDR3 Sniper Memory
Windows 7 Home Edition (64 bit) SP1
ACER S271HL LED HD 27inch Monitor
ASRock Z77 Extreme 4 Mobo
Intel 3rd Gen. Core i5-3570K (4 x 3.40GHz, Ivy Bridge, Socket 1155, 6Mb L3 Cache) CPU (OC'd to 4.2GHz)
Logitech G35 7.1 surround sound Headset
2 x SCSI Hardrives (1 x 256Gb Crucial M4 SSD & 1 x 600Gb WDC Blue WD64 00AAKS-75A7B)
Perixx PX-2000 Illuminated Gaming Keyboard
Gigabyte M8000X Laser Gaming Mouse
Scythe Kaze Master Pro Ace Manual Fan Controller[/size]
Modified front case fans (2 x Aerocool Shark 12cm Quad LED 15 Blade Fluid
Dynamic Bearing Fan-Blue)


Top 
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Windows doesn't work!
 Post Posted: Sun Mar 10, 2013 2:47 pm 
Offline
Active Member
Active Member

Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 4:05 am
Posts: 745
Location: Earlville, IA
chriskaz wrote:
Found the solution at last! My Bios was set up for RAID and it wanted drivers. Thanks to somebody on the internet (not this site unfortunately) all I had to do was disable the RAID option in the Bios & away she went! Thanks for you help anyway.


Glad you got it sorted out and thanks for posting the fix :D

_________________
HAF 912/ ASROCK / 2500K
GTX 560ti/ 8g 1600mhz
Corsair TX 650 / (2) Hard Drives
W7 64bit Pro / Coolermaster 212+


Top 
  
 
 
 [ 5 posts ] 

Board index » General Discussions » OS Issues and Questions » Windows Vista


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CommonCrawl [Bot] and 0 guests

 
 

 
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
CompUSA